Skincare solutions: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo

Pimples. They’ve plagued me all my life. My skin wasn’t terrible in my teen years, but I did get a few spots here and there. I still cringe from the memory of my sixth grade teacher asking if I had “pushed a peanut with my nose” after popping a particularly large one right on the tip. Generally, my skin didn’t wreak too much havoc. However, over the past 2-3 years I’ve definitely dealt with some breakouts, usually hormonal. I got a pretty good skincare routine down, but when I got pregnant I had to stop using most of my arsenal. Who knew so many products were no-no’s during pregnancy? My skin wasn’t too bad during that time and I got by on a pretty minimal routine of just a face wash, toner, and moisturizer. After Ava was born, I continued on the same routine without a problem. Until a couple of months ago. I started breaking out mostly around my jawline, with a few others sprinkled here and there. I broke out all the retinols, AHA & BHA products that I’d tucked away and started up again with the old routine. Except this time it wasn’t working! As soon as one pimple was on it’s way out another one was coming to the surface. I even started up with my Clarisonic again. Nothing I had was working, so of course I turned to the beauty bloggers for advice. I’d actually heard about the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo in the past, but at the time I wasn’t having any problems. They carry it at Target so the next day I went to pick it up. I used it day and night after cleansing and toning. I think within 3 days my skin was significantly improved, all my blemishes were shrinking down and there were no new ones making a debut. I’ve been using this every day since then, typically just at night unless my skin starts acting up and then I add it in in the morning as well. I apply a thin layer all over my face, not just where the pimple has set up shop. I have combination skin (oily T-zone & drier everywhere else) and it can cause some dryness so that’s something to be aware of. I think benzoyl peroxide treatments have a tendency to do that. The other downside is the price, I’m pretty sure I paid more than $30, on Target.com it’s priced at $28.49. Despite the price tag, I still think it’s worth it.

larochposay

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo

If you decide to try this, please let me know if it worked for you! And share your skincare favorites!

6 thoughts on “Skincare solutions: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo

  1. Pingback: Skin S.O.S. with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Current favorites: April 2015 | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: Drugstore skincare loves, likes, & losers. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

