Comfort food: Macaroni Soup

I mentioned in my last post that it’s been raining here. And cold. So I had a craving for something warm, homemade and comforting. In other words, macaroni soup. Or Filipino chicken noodle soup. Okay, I’m not sure what the actual name for this dish is, I just call it what my family calls it. This is the quick and easy version, I didn’t boil my own chicken and make my own stock (seriously, who has time for that?). I think traditionally evaporated milk is used to thicken it up, too. Cause in the PI, you didn’t have a fridge to keep regular milk cold, so you use the canned stuff (according to my mom). I like using some sort of cream to make it even richer (and more delicious). My dad always makes this with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving and it’s the BEST. But, when you don’t have leftovers from a 12 pound bird, a rotisserie chicken does the trick. Okay, enough talk, time to cook!

IMG_5392

Here’s what you’ll need. Also olive oil, salt & pepper (gimme a break, I’m new at this).

Ingredients:

1/2 rotisserie chicken, shredded

4 32 oz. boxes of chicken stock (I use the no added salt kind)

1 1 lb. box of elbow macaroni

3 carrots chopped

4 stalks of celery chopped

1/2 a medium onion diced

1/2 to 1 cup of heavy cream (or light cream or half & half)

1 T. olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Saute onion in olive oil over medium heat in a large pot until translucent. Add carrots and celery and continue to sauté for 3-4 min. Add shredded chicken and sauté for another 3-4 min.

2. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add macaroni and reduce heat to simmer. Continue to simmer until macaroni is cooked to your preference (I like it softer than al dente because it reminds me of home).

3. Remove from heat. Add heavy cream, this I usually do to my preference as well. I don’t actually measure, I just keep pouring and stirring until it’s as rich as I like.

4. Add salt and pepper to taste. I usually will salt as I go, but since Ava is eating this too I decided to just add at the end to make sure she wouldn’t get too much salt. I always put pepper on right before I eat it too.

5. Enjoy!

macsoup

Short-cut Macaroni Soup.

I realize that this recipe isn’t exact, but I’m not a cook and unless I have a recipe for something, I don’t really use measurements. That’s pretty much how I cook any Filipino food-my dad never really told me exactly how much to put in of any ingredient, because he doesn’t measure either (go figure). I pretty much learned this just from watching him cook. I think every Filipino family has their own version of this, so feel free to make it your own too.

5 thoughts on “Comfort food: Macaroni Soup

Leave a Reply

