Product rave: Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Foundation

Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Foundation

I’m always a sucker for trying a foundation after hearing that it’s amazing. I’d been trying to resist buying the Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Foundation, casually strolling by and trying to figure out which shade was a match, but never actually putting it in my cart. I finally broke down one day and just got it, it’s not super expensive (at Target I think I paid $6.99), so why not? It’s said to provide a ‘flawless finish that evens skin tone’ and is ‘shine free’. I’ve been using this over the past 2 weeks; I like the finish of it best with my Sigma round top kabuki. I’ve tried it with my Beauty Blender, but I just feel like I had to use more product to get the same result as my Sigma brush. I’ve also used the Real Techniques foundation brush and that’s my second pick for application. I initially bought shade 305 (golden tan), but found it too dark and ended up getting the shade 220 (soft honey), which I think is perfect.

IMG_5759.JPG

L: bare face, LM: after application, RM: with concealer, R: full face

I do feel like the foundation evens out my skin tone nicely, I don’t have to use a ton of concealer afterwards to cover up any blemishes. I don’t feel the need to powder heavily, just my T-zone and under my eyes after applying concealer. It gives a matte finish, but not as matte as my Jouer Matte Moisture Tint, and I actually prefer it. If you have any serious dry patches it will cling to them, so make sure you exfoliate if needed. I haven’t worn it every day for 2 weeks straight, but I haven’t noticed any breakouts the day after use. It doesn’t feel super cakey or suffocating on my skin either. It also lasts a good 6-8 hours when applied with my Sigma brush (weird, I know). I swear I put it on in the morning and by the evening when I checked it out, it still looked good! I honestly couldn’t believe it. I do have combination skin (oily T-zone with some dry areas on my cheeks) and my T-zone was slightly shiny, but nothing to balk at. Foundations usually break down a lot around my nose area, but this one stayed put.

IMG_5757.JPG

And the final product

It’s nice to find a drugstore foundation that works so well and at such an affordable price! Try it out and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Product rave: Covergirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Foundation

  1. Pingback: L’Oreal Infallible Matte Foundation Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

