Drugstore Mascara Review

IMG_5826-1.JPG

The lineup

There are so many mascara options at the drugstore, it can be hard to decide which one to buy. I’m definitely more of a drugstore mascara girl, I’ve never tried a high end mascara that blew me away and made me feel like it was worth the price. So I thought I’d share my thoughts on the ones I’ve been using lately (even if I’m not a complete fan, I can’t bring myself to waste a tube) and hopefully help you out in making a decision the next time you’re stalking the makeup aisle. I’d say I have pretty average lashes, they aren’t super short or sparse, and they are straight, but not super straight. Like I said, pretty average. Also, like I’ve mentioned in a previous post, pretty much every mascara will smudge on me, my lids tend to be oily which compounds the problem. In that post I shared my review of the Clarins ‘Double Fix’ Mascara, which has pretty much solved that problem. Anyway, on to the review.

IMG_5807

1. Maybelline The Rocket Volume Mascara

I’d heard a lot of raves about this mascara, but after trying it I was pretty ‘meh’ about it. I didn’t feel like it did anything particularly fabulous for my lashes in terms of volume. I have the non-waterproof version of this mascara so it did not hold a curl. I’ve continued to use it just to finish up the product, I tend to just reach for it kind of on a whim, just to see if I’ll suddenly be wowed by it, but nope, never happens.

 

IMG_5808

2. L’Oreal Miss Manga Voluminous Mascara

I actually tried this because I heard it doesn’t smudge (it does), but I pretty much hated it the first few times I used it. The wand has a little ‘joint’ that makes the brush more flexible, but made it harder for me to control. Especially when I wanted to ‘wiggle’ the wand into the base of my lashes. And because of the larger brush I tend to get mascara onto my lids if I’m not careful. The first few uses it was just too smudgy and seemed to clump my lashes together too much. BUT, I do think this is a mascara that ‘gets better with age’–after two weeks the formula dried out a bit and it didn’t apply so heavily. This mascara can give the ‘spidery’ effect with more than a couple of coats if you’re into that look. I used it today (with my Double Fix) and a two coats was enough for me for a daytime look. It does add nice volume and makes my lashes look ‘fuller’.

 

IMG_5809

3. L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Mascara

This is probably my favorite of the bunch and I’ve actually heard that it’s being discontinued (why?!). It adds good length to my lashes and is easy to apply. The brush is thin with short plastic bristles that allow for more precise application in hard to reach areas (inner corners). It doesn’t clump up with multiple coats and separate lashes nicely. It’s not super volumizing, but what it does in lengthening more than makes up for it in my book. As I was going through my stash I realized I have 4 tubes just hanging around that I hadn’t gotten around to throwing out. Yes, I’m constantly buying this and I’m hoping the rumors aren’t true and I can continue to repurchase.

 

IMG_5810

4. Maybelline Full ‘n Soft Waterproof Mascara

This is probably my second fave in terms of the lash look I get from it, but I have to say it’s kind of a PITA to put on. I love that fluttery soft lash effect it gives, but I end up getting it onto my lids almost everytime I use it because the brush is so big. I did think I ran out of it kind of fast, I’m not sure how long a tube of mascara actually lasts because I’m always working through more than one at a time. So although this is a mascara that I need to take some time with I still think it’s worth the effort.

 

IMG_5811

5. Covergirl Lashblast Volume Waterproof Mascara

This is my go-to mascara for when I’m going to an event, like a wedding or any other special occasion. It probably smudges the least on it’s own, gives good volume, and holds a curl. It doesn’t add a lot of length, but for a special occasion I tend to wear false eyelashes anyway (my favorite are the Ardell demi wispies). It has short plastic bristles so I don’t make a huge mess of my eyeshadow when I apply it. But, I do find it harder to get into that inner corner area because the brush has a kind if thicker ‘barrel’. Overall, it’s just a good reliable mascara that I always have hanging around if needed.

 

IMG_5812

6. Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara

I tried this on a whim to see if I would like it, and it’s not bad, but not great. It definitely gives nicely separated lashes, almost like the Telescopic, but without the added length. The brush is kind of crescent shaped with short plastic bristles so application was easy and I could easily get into the inner corners of my eye. I probably wouldn’t repurchase this, but hey, they can’t all be great.

 

I used the Miss Manga today, just a couple of coats so it doesn’t look crazy dramatic or anything. But, I like that it makes it look like my lashes are fuller than they really are.

IMG_5829.JPG

Wearing ‘Miss Manga’ on my lashes today with a coat of ‘Double Fix’ on top. And yes, I realize I’m in need of some serious lip moisturization!

I’m still in search of that ‘perfect’ mascara that will be life changing and make me never want to buy any other. But, until I find it I’m always open to trying something new. If you have a recommendation, please share!

2 thoughts on “Drugstore Mascara Review

Leave a Reply

