Drugstore concealer favorites

IMG_5905.JPG

Well loved, can you tell?

After all that dark under eye circle talk yesterday, I decided it would be good to share my favorite drugstore concealers. I actually tend to use these more often than the high end concealers that I own. Honestly, if I had to choose only one concealer to have to for the rest of my life it would be a drugstore pick. So, let’s get started.

IMG_5906.JPG

From L to R: L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon in Light/Medium W4-5, Maybelline Age Rewind in Medium, Maybelline Fit Me in 20 Sand, L’Oreal Magic Lumi in Medium

1. L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon
This is the one concealer I don’t ever use on my undereyes. This is reserved especially for blemishes. It’s a thicker concealer that I usually warm up by rubbing into my fingertip then tapping it over the scar/pimple/whatever. Then I use my finger to gently blend out the edges so it looks more seamless. Be warned, you don’t want to over do it with this stuff because it can cake up pretty fast. It’s pretty heavy and opaque though so you probably won’t need to go crazy with it. Also, don’t go heavy with the setting powder because it will show. I’ve been using the Bobbi Brown Sheer Powder Brush to apply any setting powder and it’s been working well to lay down just enough to increase the staying powder of my concealers.

2. Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser

This is the one concealer I’d choose if I could only have one. It’s a thinner consistency, but not runny, and it just blends into my skin and covers my dark circles seamlessly. I also use this to cover up any redness around my nose. It has a sponge applicator that dispenses the product by twisting at the top of the tube. I have occasionally gone overboard and squeezed out too much, but it’s usually no biggie. I swipe it under my eyes in the typical ‘triangle’ configuration and blend with a pointed foundation brush. Along with concealing my dark circles, it also gives a bit of a brightening effect (not enough to give you the Kim K look if that’s your thing, maybe it would if I used shade light). I just always know this concealer is going to work well and that’s that.

3. Maybelline Fit Me

This is somewhat reminiscent of the Nars Creamy Concealer, it has that same creamy consistency and comes with a doe foot applicator. I think this is nice especially if you have a dry undereye area. It doesn’t counteract my dark circles as well because it’s more yellow toned, but it does give a brightening effect.

4. L’Oreal Magic Lumi Concealer

I like this mainly for adding a little extra brightness to the area closest to my inner corners where I have the most darkness. I don’t use it everyday, only when I need a little extra help getting that ‘well rested’ look. I apply my concealer of choice for the day, then paint this over it. I’ve also used this as a liquid highlight on the bridge of my nose, forehead, Cupid’s bow, & chin. I think it’s like a drugstore alternative to the YSL Touchè Éclat, which I’ve never actually tried.

IMG_5913.JPG

Age Rewind + Magic Lumi. And yes, I totally picked something that I shouldn’t have.

I still feel like my under eye concealer game could be better, I still see some hints of darkness that I just can’t beat. I’m thinking I need more heavy duty corrector, like the one by Bobbi Brown, but I’ve tried the Eve Pearl Salmon concealer and I still don’t feel like it does the job to perfection. Or maybe I’m asking for too much? Or maybe I need to improve my cover up technique? If you have any product recs or tips, I’d love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “Drugstore concealer favorites

  1. Pingback: Drugstore makeup I can’t be without. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Overview review of Drugstore Concealers! ♥ aLoveTart

Leave a Reply

