Battle of the Dry Shampoos

IMG_5979.JPG

Who will win?

 

Since I don’t wash my hair daily, I usually turn to dry shampoo to keep my hair from looking like a grease ball. I tend to start getting a little oily by day 2 and you can tell I’m on day 3 because I have my hair up in a bun. I’ve tried my fair share of different brands, four of which I want to share with you here.

1. Oscar Blandi Pronto Dry Shampoo
This is my favorite (and of course has to be the most expensive of the bunch at $21) by far, I get the best results and the most ‘freshly washed’ look from it. It has a lemony scent that I don’t hate. It’s a fine powder that is despensed by shaking into the roots via a pointed tip applicator. I just dust it on and rub it into my roots and I’m done. No weird residue and it gives my hair a little added volume at the roots. I don’t use it all the time though because it’s a bit pricey so I have a couple of drugstore alternatives that I rotate in. There is a spray version for brunettes that I’ve tried, but I wasn’t a fan.

2. Batiste Dry Shampoo
This is my drugstore fave that I reach for the most. I don’t mind the scent and it doesn’t linger too long. I shake the can well before spraying into my roots, and continue to shake between sections of hair. It does need to be rubbed in pretty well or you can be left with that white cast on your roots. Although it is a spray, it doesn’t leave a greasy residue.

3. Dove Dry Shampoo
I pretty much hate this one, I might as well just throw it out because I’ll never use it again. And I didn’t just use it once and judge it right away, I gave it several tries before deciding it was a fail. First off, the scent is seriously overpowering and it just follows you around all day. Second, it just makes my hair look worse, like I hadn’t washed it for a week (no joke). This may work for some, it just didn’t for me.

4. Psssst Instant Dry Shampoo
My second place drugstore pick, it’s pretty similar to the Batiste, but the Batiste just seems to work a little bit better for me. It doesn’t leave a greasy residue, but it just doesn’t seem to absorb the oil as all for me. I also feel like I tend to use more of it to get the same result as the Batiste. After I finish this bottle, I probably won’t repurchase unless the Batiste is out of stock and I really need a new can.

My hair usually isn’t that bad on the second day, I don’t really HAVE to use dry shampoo, but I like that it adds a little ‘oomph’ and volume. Second day hair is my favorite because it also has a little more texture, I just kind of ‘rough it up’ with my fingers after applying dry shampoo and I’m done.

IMG_5989.JPG

Second day hair

 

Hope you all are having a nice weekend! And let me know your favorite dry shampoo so I can check it out!

One thought on “Battle of the Dry Shampoos

  1. Pingback: Hair care from Day 1 to Day 3 (or so). | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

