Product rave: Garnier Nourishing Cleansing Oil

Cleansing oils have always scared me because my skin is typically more on the oily side of combination skin, but since the cold weather has settled in and some of my skincare products have changed, it’s been drier than usual. I’ve always been intrigued by the concept of cleansing oils, but wasn’t willing to shell out the big bucks at Sephora for the fancy stuff. So when I saw the Garnier Nourishing Cleansing Oil at Target, I decided to give it a try.

IMG_6041.JPG

My first venture into cleansing oils

It has a pleasant scent and I use 2-3 pumps and rub it all over my face. The first couple of times I used it I don’t think I did it thoroughly enough and had trouble rinsing it off. I realized I really need to spend some time massaging it into my skin and after adding some water, again massaging that into a light lather before rinsing. I do still go in with my regular cleanser afterwards, I kind of treat this as my makeup removal step in my night cleansing routine. I had been using the Target brand makeup removal wipes which are fine and I like using if I’m too exhausted to put in the effort of the cleansing oil. I find that when I wear foundation I tend to have a small amount of residue left over (I tested by using a makeup wipe after using the oil), but if I’m just doing powder foundation it removes everything fine. Also, if I don’t spend enough time working it into my lashes I still have residue from waterproof mascara, but regular formulas are removed pretty easily. I will warn you that if it gets into your eyes you’ll be blurry for a bit, but it doesn’t sting or anything. And I like that this feels like more gentle than using the makeup wipes and does make me feel like I’m doing something luxurious to my skin. I’ve been using it for about 2 weeks now and it hasn’t caused any breakouts. And although it’s marketed towards dry skin, I think combo skin would be fine to use this. Not sure how it would do if your skin is mostly oily.

IMG_6043.JPG

L: Looking rough by the end of the day (told you I’m not one to touch up), R: Still looking rough after the cleansing oil, but makeup free!

I used it tonight to remove my makeup, I used tinted moisturizer and non-waterproof mascara, and it removed all of it. I used a makeup wipe afterwards to do a check and nothing was left.

IMG_6040.JPG

All gone!

So if you’re curious about cleansing oils and want to give one a try, I’d recommend this one. It’s a good way to get your feet wet, and at $5.99, it won’t hurt so much if you don’t like it.

One thought on “Product rave: Garnier Nourishing Cleansing Oil

  1. Pingback: Drugstore skincare loves, likes, & losers. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

