First impression: The NEW Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara

IMG_6232.JPG

Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara

Because I’m still in search of the perfect drugstore mascara, I picked up the new Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Volume Mascara in Very Black. I went with the waterproof version this time to help hold the curl in my lashes. The brush shape is curved; I was intrigued as it has plastic bristles that are shorter on the inner curve than on the outer. The instructions say the shorter bristles are for getting at the base of your lashes and the longer are to help fan them out.

IMG_6273.JPG

I did find it easier to get to the base of my lashes with the shorter bristles without getting a ton of mascara on my lids. The longer bristles did work well to comb through to the ends of the lashes. I was pretty impressed with the overall results, I felt like the mascara added volume and length. I used about three coats-it did start to get a little clumpy during the last coat, but nothing crazy. In terms of smudge factor, it was pretty light. No crazy raccoon eyes after 6 hours of wear. Not sure how it would hold up in more hot & humid weather, as it’s been cold and dry here as of late.

IMG_6257.JPG

1: just a little color in the crease, 2: lashes curled, 3: L eye with one coat, 4: both eyes with 2 coats, 5: 3 coats and tightlined

I decided to skip the usual winged liner and I just tightlined the upper lash line with the Makeup Forever Aqua Eyes Liner in Black. It’s my favorite for this purpose because it’s just creamy enough where it glides on easily, but doesn’t smudge and transfer to my bottom lash line. And since I went lighter on the eyes, I decided to use my favorite fall ‘berry’ type color, a Revlon crème lipstick in ‘Mauvy Night’. And since it’s a crème formula it’s a little more moisturizing and forgiving on my dry lips.

IMG_6249.JPG

FOTD

So, I decided to keep it super casual today and wear:

IMG_6264.JPG

Cause you’re never too old to wear a onesie!

Ha! I’m kidding. This is what happens when my husband comes to Target with us. We all get matching onesies. And it’s so comfortable, I pretty much wear it around the house all the time. A little awkward for when people stop by randomly, but whatevs.

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “First impression: The NEW Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara

  1. Pingback: Drugstore makeup I can’t be without. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Some things are just better together: Maybelline Lash Sensational + Covergirl Full Lash Bloom | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

