My thoughts on the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow Palette.

IMG_6458.JPG

Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow

When I heard about the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow palette I knew I just had to have it. First off, the packaging is just gorgeous in a very old Hollywood glamour kind of way.

IMG_6459.JPG

SO luxe.

I’ll admit, just looking at the pictures of the bronzer in the pan made me a little hesistant as I’ve been permanently attached to my Bahama Mama bronzer from the Balm which is a lot warmer and matte. The CT does have a bit of shimmer and I worried that it wasn’t going to show up as strongly on my skin tone.

IMG_6396.JPG

Taken in natural light.

When swatching the bronzer, you will notice some shimmer, kind of like a satin finish. It’s in no way super glittery. The highlighter is a beautiful yellow tone that I thought would give just the right amount of glow without looking shiny (key when you have an oily T-zone).

IMG_6461.JPG

Contour & highlight swatched.

I used my Nars ‘Ita’ brush to apply the bronzer to my temples, underneath my cheekbones, & jawline. I used a small duo fiber brush (I think it’s a Crown brush, but there’s no name on the handle) to apply the highlight. Both applied easily and blended well. Although the bronzer does have a kind of satin finish, it doesn’t actually appear that way on the skin.

IMG_6447.JPG

From L to R: no bronzer; bronzer only on L side of face; bronzer, blush & highlight

I used Nars ‘Orgasm’ blush (thanks to Annie from anniesbeautyblog.com for inspiring me to break this out again!) to complete the cheek look before applying the highlight shade, which I thought was a little subtle. I think it’s because the shade kind of blends into my skintone. While it doesn’t beat my favorite highlight, the Balm’s Marylou Manizer, it’s still pretty. I used it on the high points of my cheekbones, bridge of my nose, chin & Cupid’s bow. I’ve also used this as an inner corner highlight and love it for that purpose. I also ended up contouring a little around my nose and I have to say, I like the effect it gives.

IMG_6460.JPG

L: before contouring the sides of my nose; R: after contouring

The final look.

IMG_6443-2.JPG

FOTD

So the verdict is, I love the bronzer, but I just like the highlighter. I’ve been reaching for this every time I do my makeup; my the Balm bronzer is currently on the back burner. Although it’s a softer contour than I’m used to, I think it’s pretty. I think if I’m really looking for a stronger contour I’ll go back to the Balm, but for now I’m really enjoying the Bronze & Glow.

 

4 thoughts on “My thoughts on the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow Palette.

    • I usually apply it with a duo fiber brush so I don’t overdo it. I think you’d like it if you tried it! Hopefully Charlotte Tilbury will be available there soon, after trying the Bronze & Glow, I want to try the eyeshadows too!

      Like

  1. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Summer 2015 Makeup Routine | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

