Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Powder Foundation. Will it replace my MUFE Duo Mat?

IMG_6468.JPG

Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Powder Foundation

 

Since I’ve almost finished my Makeup Forever Duo Mat powder I just felt like it was time for a change. While there’s nothing wrong with it per se, I just wanted to try something new. I noticed the Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder during the Sephora VIB sale because of the wide range of shades for fair to darker complexions. My MUFE powder is a pretty good match, but I always felt like it didn’t have enough yellow for my skin tone.

IMG_6509.JPG

shade 7

I ended up choosing shade 7, the sales person at Sephora had originally picked 9 which was way too dark. The powder is very smooth and finely milled, more so than my MUFE powder. It works best with my ELF kabuki brush, I also tried it with their flat top kabuki, but it laid down way too much product and looked too caked on. The LM powder provides light to medium coverage, I usually go over my face twice with kabuki brush and I’m done. It’s definitely not going to give you full coverage, but I don’t really need that for day to day and it’s super quick to apply as it blends easily. I could also probably use this to set my foundation because the powder is so fine.

IMG_6504.JPG

L to R: bare face, LM powder & CDP concealer, full face

I prefer the LM color match to my MUFE powder. It’s not as mattifying, but it doesn’t really claim to be a matte powder. It does smoothen the appearance of my skin and evens it out. I like the finish better than my MUFE. I still use concealer for the areas that need the extra coverage. In terms of lasting power, it holds up for the few hours I need it to when going to run errands and such, but it does start to break down around my T-zone after 3 to 4 hours. If you have dry skin it’ll probably last longer. On my cheeks and forehead where I’m drier the coverage still looks good.
This would probably be the perfect powder if it had the matte powers of the MUFE Duo Mat. It just doesn’t control my oily areas in the same way. In every other aspect I like it better than the MUFE. Also, it doesn’t break me out. All in all, I do really like this powder and it works well in the colder weather; when summer hits and the heat & humidity come back I’ll probably go back to the Duo Mat.
And my always casual OOTD:

IMG_6505.JPG

Top & jeans Mossimo for Target, Sam Edelman ‘Peter’ Booties, Balenciaga Arena Classic City

I’m excited to spend time with the fam for Thanksgiving. With Ava turning one next month, our new home, and the health and happiness of our family, I have a lot to be thankful for. I hope you all have a good one!

One thought on “Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Powder Foundation. Will it replace my MUFE Duo Mat?

  1. Pingback: Chanel Double Perfection Lumiere Powder Foundation Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

