Pulling it together on the bare minimum.

IMG_6669.JPG

We all have those days where we don’t have much time or just don’t feel like putting much effort into getting ready. I’ve been having a lot of those days lately where I just can’t be bothered, but I still want to look somewhat presentable. These are the bare essentials that make me look like I put more effort in than I actually did.

1. Complexion.
I think it’s worth it to put some work into your skin, at least to even things out a bit. But, going through a whole foundation routine is a no-go. Tinted moisturizer/CC or BB creams are perfect for this and you can even get away with skipping moisturizer and just using one of these products to save time. Because I have dark circles under my eyes, I always conceal and it makes me look brighter and well-rested. I’ve been testing out the It Cosmetics CC Cream (review to come) in medium and of course I’m loving my Cle de Peau concealer in Ocher.

2. Add back some color.
Instead of going through the whole bronzer, blush, highlight routine, I just stick with adding blush to bring a little life back into my face. Using a blush with a little bit of a highlighting effect, like the Hourglass Ambient Lighting blushes can work double time to give a nice flush as well as a little glow to those cheekbones. I used Luminous Flush, the first color in the palette.

3. Brows.
Honestly, I probably started focusing more on my brows just over a year ago and now I think they are essential in any makeup look, even if it’s a minimal one. I like the Anastasia Brow Wiz in Soft Brown, it makes it easy to define your brows in just a few strokes and helps to frame your face.

4. Lashes.
Skip the eyeshadow & liner and just layer on a few coats of mascara. I think mascara does wonders for enhancing the look of your eyes and making them stand out. Use a formula that adds length and volume and that’s super black for more impact. The Maybelline Lash Sensational waterproof mascara is my current favorite.

5. Bold lips.
Using a brighter or darker lip color makes you look instantly like you put way more thought into your makeup look. Stick with a glossy or creme finish, I think they’re more forgiving than a matte when you’re pressed for time and you’re dealing with dry, flaky lips. So far I’m liking the L’Oreal Glossy Balm in Petite Plum that I got last week. I glides on easily and has good color payoff.

IMG_6665.JPG

Just the essentials.

This probably took me less than 10 minutes. I had to bring Ava in for a doctor’s appointment and I was running around trying to get her lunch ready so she could eat before we left and get myself ready too. Her ped actually commented on how nice I looked, which she never does, even on days I’ve seen her and actually done the whole 9 yards. It just goes to show that you don’t have to spend hours doing you hair and makeup, 10 minutes is all you need.

And because you can never have enough pairs of black boots, I wanted to share my latest addition.

IMG_6667.JPG

Black pointy-toed booties, distressed jeans, & Balenciaga.

I’ve been looking for a pair of more pointy-toed booties for awhile and I found these ones from Steven by Steve Madden on Rue La La. They have a low heel so they are actually pretty comfy.

Hope everyone had a great day!

2 thoughts on “Pulling it together on the bare minimum.

    • I love it! It’s such a good value, and the blushes really are beautiful. It’s been my go-to blush palette lately. Hopefully they’ll be making their way to you soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

