Late to the game: the L’Oreal Glossy Balms

IMG_6730.JPG
I mentioned in a previous post that I picked up the L’Oreal Glossy Balm in Petite Plum, and because I liked it so much I figured I’d try a couple more. I know these aren’t a new product, but if you haven’t tried them yet and have contemplated them like I did, here is my review.

IMG_6729.JPG

Top to bottom: Lively Mocha, Vintage Rose, Petite Plum

I chose Lively Mocha, Vintage Rose, and of course Petite Plum. The pigmentation varies amongst the 3 colors, with the plum applying the most opaque. Surprisingly, the mocha comes in second and the rose in last. The rose shade applied the most patchy in comparison to the others, but with some extra layering you can make it work. These are by no means long lasting, but the plum & pink color will leave a bit of stain on your lips. I have a lot of color to my lips already so the beige doesn’t really leave any color residue. I do like the overall look and feel of these balms, they fall somerwhere between a lipstick and a liquid gloss to me. They aren’t super shiny by any means. They also feel nice on the lips, they aren’t too sticky or thick. They are fairly hydrating, but nothing exceptional. I will say the application of the darker color can be tricky towards the corners of my lips, especially as I wear down the tip of the balm.
I definitely favor these over the Revlon Balm Stains which I revisited for comparison. The color payoff is better, some of the lighter Revlon colors barely showed up on me. Also, I’m not sure if this is because I bought mine last year and maybe they’re a little old, but the Revlon balms feel more sticky and I can’t get a good even finish with them (it’s been quite awhile since I’ve used them). So if you’re contemplating either of these products I’d choose the L’Oreal.

IMG_6709.JPG

Top to bottom: Lively Mocha, Vintage Rose, Petite Plum

Overall, this is another product like, but not love. They’re convenient to throw in my purse when I’m on the go and are easier to apply than a lipstick when I’m in a rush. It’s a twist up product so no need for a sharpener. I have a couple of the Tarte Lipsurgence matte lip tints which I do feel are better than these, but for the price I’d say these are worth it. I wasn’t crazy about any other of the Glossy Balm colors, but if they did come out with more I’d probably give them a try.

Because I have no self control, these came in the mail today:

IMG_6718.JPG

New Nars goodies 🙂

I keep seeing everyone post about the Nars Virtual Domination Cheek palette and I just couldn’t take it anymore. And I’ve been hearing great things about the Nars Audacious lipsticks as well and wanted to give them a try. They didn’t come in til this afternoon, so I have to wait until tomorrow to give then a try and really, tomorrow can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

