First impression: the NEW L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Intenza Waterproof Mascara

 

IMG_7011.JPG

I had a feeling that I wasn’t going to like the L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Intenza Waterproof mascara, but for some reason I just wanted to be proved wrong. Like it just might be the perfect mascara and if I didn’t try it, I’d be missing out. Well, guess what. I should have followed my instincts. Okay, that makes it sound really bad and it’s not terrible or anything, it’s just not the perfect mascara. So, let’s get into it.

This mascara is supposed to give ‘extreme volume with an intense fanned out look’. It is a fiber infused formula, but the fibers aren’t noticeable and I didn’t even realize they were there until I read the back of the packaging. It’s also supposed to be flake, clump, AND smudge free (my eyes always light up when I read ‘smudge free’). The brush is unique in that it has a ‘double wing’ shape that’s supposed to ‘catch and fan out the lashes’ for more lift and spread. You’re supposed to use one wing to put on the initial coat for ‘super charged volume’, then use the other wing to fan out the lashes.

IMG_7012.JPG

A closer look.

I curled my lashes and applied the mascara as instructed. The bristles are the short plastic kind that I like, and I did like the way I could reach all my lashes easily without getting mascara everywhere. It was easy to comb through my lashes as well and the brush did provide good separation. However, I felt like the first coat did nothing major in terms of volume. I did see some lengthening, but one coat did not cut it. Two coats gave better results and I felt like my lashes did look fuller and had a ‘fluttery’ kind of look to them. I do think I was expecting more in terms of volume, and I just didn’t get that from this mascara. The packaging says ‘9x the volume’ so my expectations were set pretty high. I actually thought it was better in lengthening my lashes. I got the waterproof formula so it does hold a curl well. There was no flaking throughout the day, but I got smudges under my eyes not even 3 hours after the initial application (ugh, my main problem with mascaras). So in that aspect I was not impressed. I did buy the blackest black shade, which may also be why the mascara smudged so fast (I notice that happens whenever I get the darkest formula). Also, there was no clumping on application, but I will say that I felt like I had trouble coating my lashes which may be due to it being my first time using it? It was as if there wasn’t enough product on the brush to really get onto my lashes. I had to take a lot more time than usual to get an even coating.

IMG_7007.JPG

From top to bottom: bare lashes, bare & curled, one coat of mascara, two coats of mascara

I have to admit the final result after two coats isn’t bad, but I did expect more in terms of volume and the smudge free claim. I like the kind of soft, fluttery look it gives my lashes. However, this is not a repurchase although I’ll still use it til it’s gone paired with my Clarins Double-Fix. I still prefer my Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara over this (it’s probably my favorite mascara of the moment), which I reviewed here. Ultimately, I’m still on the hunt for that perfect mascara.

3 thoughts on “First impression: the NEW L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Intenza Waterproof Mascara

Leave a Reply

