Daytime winter skincare routine

IMG_7027.JPG

I shared my nighttime routine recently and wanted to share my daytime routine as well. It’s pretty much a shorter version of my night routine with a few variations. Just for reference, I have combination (oily T-zone/normal to dry everywhere else) skin that is also acne prone.

Step 1: Cleanse.
I use either my Ole Henriksen Aloe Vera Cleanser or the Yes to Carrots Grapefruit Daily Facial Scrub if I need a little more exfoliation. I talked about the aloe vera cleanser in my nighttime post; the grapefruit scrub is nice as well. First off, I love the citrusy smell. It’s a gel-like consistency with tiny microbeads that act as a physical exfoliant. It’s not overly abrasive because the particles are small and I don’t find it to be too harsh for daily use.

Step 2: Tone.
I stick with my Ole Henriksen Grease Relief Facial Tonic for this as well, also discussed in my nighttime post. I just put a little on a cotton pad and swipe it over my face.

Step 3: Serum.
Also in my nighttime post, the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum is some good stuff. Like magically good. So much so that I have to use it day and night. I raved about it in my nighttime post already so I won’t do it again here (even though I wouldn’t mind).

Step 4: Moisturizer.
This can vary depending on what I’m doing with my makeup that day. If I’m just going for powder foundation, I’ll use my Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer. It has SPF 30 for the daytime sun and has a pleasant light scent. It’s not overly greasy and absorbs well into my skin. It’s supposed to even skin tone, but since I don’t use it daily I can’t really speak to that aspect of it. If it’s a day I know I’m having pictures taken and don’t want the added SPF, I’ll use my Ole Henriksen Vitamin Plus moisturizer. It’s super light and it’s marketed towards oily/acne prone skin as well. I used to use this night and day, but I switched to a heavier moisturizer for nighttime because I was getting some dry patches around my nose and mouth. Unlike some of my other OH products this has no heavy scent to it. And on days I’m using my It Cosmetics CC Cream, I skip the moisturizer all together.
For daytime eye cream I’m still using up my sample of the Origins Ginzing eye cream, but to be honest I’m not really seeing a dramatic difference in my dark circles. I’ll finish it up and let you know if anything miraculous happens.

My skin has been really good lately in terms of breakouts, I haven’t had one in several weeks. But, if I am getting a breakout,  I will use the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo during the daytime to spot treat the blemish. Otherwise, it’s a pretty quick four-step routine. My skin feels great, it’s well hydrated and clear. If you have any other skincare recommendations for the winter season, please share them!

4 thoughts on “Daytime winter skincare routine

  1. Pingback: Skincare Reload & some beauty minis. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Updated skincare routine: Winter 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

