Dressing for the holidays: My daughter’s first birthday!

IMG_7072.JPG

Sweater dress + tights + knee high boots

 

Okay, this isn’t necessarily a holiday to anyone but us, however I’d still wear this look to any other holiday party. We celebrated Ava’s first birthday on Sunday and my, it was great and exhausting all at once. She’s in a stage where she wants you to hold her hands and walk around with her NONSTOP and is still wary with strangers and big crowds so there were some tears. Overall, she had a good time and I’m relieved it’s over. Planning a kid’s birthday these days is such a huge event!

Anyway, on to the outfit. I wanted to look a little dressy, but casual and still be able to move around comfortably while managing a one year old. I opted for this sweater dress from Old Navy that is super warm and easy to move around in. I also went with these knee high flat boots by Tory Burch (old, but similar here) Β and some black opaque tights from Target (where else?). I can’t remember the last time I wore heels!

IMG_7071-0.JPG

Grey on grey on grey.

 

I kept the accessories within the same grey color palette and wore this faux pearl necklace and rhinestone earrings. The necklace was from when my friend had started a jewelry business and I can’t remember where the earrings are from (but I’m guessing F21).

IMG_7070.JPG

My baby hairs are out of control!

 

Makeup was pretty neutral, I actually wanted to do a red lip, but I knew I’d have my hands too full to reapply. I ended up just using a Nyx butter gloss in Tiramisu. On my eyes I used the original Naked palette, Anastasia brow powder and brow gel, Kat Von D tattoo liner, and the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara. I used my all time fave bronzer Bahama Mama by the Balm to contour around my face and cheekbones, the Charlotte Tilbury Bronze & Glow for highlighting the high points of my face and to contour slightly around my nose (I’m really liking it for that purpose, it comes off way more subtle). I primed with the Hourglass Mineral Veil and used my MUFE HD Foundation, set with the Tarte pressed Smooth Operator powder. Lastly, I set everything with my Urban Decay All Nighter.

I love the MUFE HD Foundation because your skin will look amazing in photos, but I wish it were more long wearing. If you know of any other foundations that photograph well AND last throughout the day, I’d love to know!

7 thoughts on “Dressing for the holidays: My daughter’s first birthday!

Leave a Reply

