An everyday DRUGSTORE makeup routine.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7115.jpg
I’m definitely guilty of getting too caught up in using more high end beauty products, I mean if it’s that expensive it has to be good, right? I tend to neglect some of my drugstore products that are actually pretty amazing and I hold just as highly as the stuff I get at the fancy makeup counters. I decided to do an everyday look using some of my drugstore faves.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7116.jpg

A peek inside.

To start, I used my recent favorite drugstore foundation, the Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous foundation that I reviewed here. I actually like this more than some high end foundations I’ve tried, it’s long-lasting and gives a nice natural finish (somewhere between matte and dewy perfection). I still like how my MUFE HD photographs better, but this is pretty close to that. I used the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer  in Light/Medium under my eyes and the L’Oreal Crayon Concealer in W4/5 (both discussed here) for any blemishes. I set everything with my Rimmel Stay Matte powder in Sandstone. If you have oily skin or an oily T-zone you gotta try this. The first bronzer I ever started using is the NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder in Sunny, it brings some warmth back to your face after foundation without going overboard. To add in a little more color, my ultimate drugstore blush is the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso. For a highlight, I went with the NYC Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Golden Touch (couldn’t find this for sale anymore online!). On my eyes, I did my usual brown/bronzey, slightly smokey look with the Wet n Wild Vanity palette (sadly, discontinued). It has a mix of matte and shimmers with good pigmentation. The Milani Eye Tech Extreme Liquid Eye Liner is an old fave, it has a felt tip liner that is easy to control and would actually be a good eyeliner pen to start with for beginners. You can’t get as fine of a line as with the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, but it’s still really good. And of course, I stuck with my Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara for my lashes. I don’t have a drugstore brow product at the moment, but I substituted my L’Oreal Studio Secrets eyeshadow quad (also apparently discontinued) and used a mix of the two darkest shades on an angled brush. Finally, I went with the Revlon Matte lipstick in Mauve It Over, another lipstick fave that won’t dry your lips out despite the matte finish.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7117.jpg

A full drugstore makeup look.

I feel terrible that some of the products I used are discontinued! I didn’t realize until I started writing this post, and I’m actually sad for myself because I wish I had bought back ups! But, you’ll notice that a lot of the products I used are from the same brands, who I think put out great makeup that performs. Next time I’m at the drugstore, I’ll scan the shelves and let you know if they’ve come out with any replacements for them.

As always, I’d love to know your favorite drugstore products so please share!

 

 

 

One thought on “An everyday DRUGSTORE makeup routine.

  1. Pingback: Drugstore makeup I can’t be without. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

