Combating dry winter lips: A DIY lip scrub + my two favorite lip balms.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7152.jpg

I don’t know about you, but my lips have been so dry lately. Like, embarrassingly dry, in the ‘can’t be caught without lip balm on’ dry. I’ve heard of the lip scrubs on the market from Fresh and Lush, but I honestly never wanted to shell out the cash for a lip scrub. I’d rather buy a lipstick. I also know I can make my own, I just never got around to it. Until realizing recently that my lips are beyond the help of a lip balm and that I needed some serious exfoliation. So, I turned to the place where I get all my recipes from. Pinterest. And let me just say, there must be hundreds of lip scrub recipes out there. I tend to choose my actual meal recipes by the way it looks in the picture and whether or not I have the ingredients handy. This lip scrub was no exception. I’ll link where I got the recipe here for you guys to refer back to if you’d like.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 small container
  • Optional: 1 teaspoon Vaseline
  • Optional: pink food coloring

I mixed everything together in a small bowl, except for the pink food coloring and put it into one of those small travel containers I usually have hanging around from our past vacations. They recommend using this twice a week before bed then applying lip balm. I, of course, couldn’t wait until bedtime and tried it right away. My initial thoughts are I wish it was more gritty, I will probably add more sugar as I work my way through the container. Also, if you’re worried about swallowing the Vaseline, I’d leave it out. I spent a good minute or two scrubbing back and forth and in circular motions, using more scrub as needed. It didn’t remove all the dry skin from my lips, but they did feel much softer after use. I think after a few more uses my lips will definitely feel smoother. Then I slathered on my lip balm.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7158.jpg

DIY lip scrub

My two favorite lip balms of the moment are the Dior Crème de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm and the Korres Jasmine Lip Butter. Firstly, both products smell lovely and just like their respective names. The Dior I keep on my nightstand and pretty much only use before bed because it is ridiculously expensive. But, it really works the best of any other lip balm I’ve tried. I always wake up with my lips feeling much smoother than the night before. The Korres I keep at my vanity and usually apply at the start of my makeup routine. Both products leave a slight light pink color on my lips, but it’s very sheer and my lips are already naturally deep in color so it’s nothing very noticeable. Most importantly, these products are actually hydrating, I don’t feel like my lips are dry again 20 minutes after applying them.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7159.jpg

Dior Crème de Rose & Korres Jasmine Lip Butter

One of the reasons why my lips are so dry during the day is that I’m terrible at reapplying lip balm. I usually like a stick formula for daytime because it’s just faster. As of late I’ve been using the Nivea A Kiss of Smoothness lip balm, but I’m not necessarily attached to it and can’t really call it a fave. It just works on the go when I don’t have two hands to be messing around with a potted balm.

If you have other lip balm faves or an amazing DIY scrub I could try, don’t be shy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

