Cause one is never enough: More thoughts on the Nars Audacious Lipsticks.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7251.jpg

I mentioned in my review of the Nars Virtual Domination palette that after trying Anita, I placed an order for two more of the Nars Audacious lipsticks. I wanted another everyday nude and couldn’t resist a red. So, Barbara and Rita came to keep Anita company.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7246.jpg

Rita, Barbara, & Anita

Barbara is described as a ‘tan rose’ (in other words, a pinky nude) which I think is a pretty accurate description for it’s color, while Rita is described as a ‘scarlett’. It’s a nice mid-toned, warm red that has just the right amount of brightness for day or night. Both lipsticks are creamy and very pigmented. I did need to layer Barbara on a little more because my lips are already on the darker side. Because my actual lip line is darker than my lips I do prefer to use a lip liner with it. I used a lip brush with Rita for more precise application, but don’t feel the need to use lip liner unless I want to get some extra lasting power in. I’d describe the finish as semi-matte, and I would recommend doing some lip exfoliation if you’re a extra flakey in that department. But, if you have just a little dryness it’s not going to exaggerate it too much. I do like the finish on it’s own and it’s also very nice with a gloss layered over. They aren’t overly drying either. Both pretty long wearing as long as you aren’t eating and drinking a ton while it’s on, but even still Barbara hung in there surprisingly well after I downed a tall caramel latte.
All in all, I really like these and would recommend them. I’m thinking of picking up one more in a berry shade, but I want to look at them in store before making a decision.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7254.jpg

Anita, Barbara, & Rita swatched

Don’t hesitate to try these if you haven’t already!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7243.jpg

Barely there makeup with Rita, Barbara & Anita.

6 thoughts on “Cause one is never enough: More thoughts on the Nars Audacious Lipsticks.

  1. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  2. hi! Ive heard that nars barbara is similar to mac velvet teddy? how true is that? i saw you own both and maybe you have the answer πŸ™‚ thanks in advance πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! I’d say VT is more of a tan nude and warmer, Barbara has a bit more pink. They’re similar, but not the same enough for me. I hope that helps! I think I’ll do a post on all my nude lipsticks and I’ll swatch them next to each other for comparison.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The nudes | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

