L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper Brow Gel Mascara Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7381.jpgLuckily, my eyebrows have survived my teen years of plucking and waxing without much harm. I remember I started plucking them when I was 13 because I saw my mom doing the same with hers. Then I graduated to going to get them waxed and that’s when things got a little sketchy in my eyebrow history. They’ve occasionally come out too thin or with a little too much taken from between them. But, most of the hairs grew back, except I’m a little sparser at the ends and there’s a small patch on my right eyebrow that’s finally starting to look normal again. I started getting them threaded 3ish years ago and I think that’s made the biggest difference, they just clean them up at the edges, trim them and I’m good.
I started getting into filling in my brows maybe 2 years ago (can you tell I have a terrible memory?). Now I feel like I need to do them everyday, my face doesn’t feel complete without them. Unless I wearing no makeup, of course. Benefit has a brow product out right now similar to this that I wanted to try for days when I need a really quick fix and just want to get out the door. But, while I was in the drugstore the other day I ran into the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper and figured why not? Hopefully, I’d save myself some cash if I liked it. The Brow Stylist Plumper is supposed to be a 2-in-1 deal, filling in your brows and adding volume to the thinner hairs while holding them in place. The package directions say to start with clean brows then brush through with short upward strokes following your brow shape.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_7378.jpg

A closer look.

I chose the medium to dark shade, there is one lighter and one darker in the line. The brush is small, which I like in terms of controlling where the color goes. I swept through once, then decided to do another coat just to see how it would look. With the second coat it did start to get a little sticky and some of my brow hairs clumped together, but I combed through with my regular brow spoolie afterwards and it softened them up. I thought the product did well in adding volume and color to my brows while also holding them in place well. The brows on my right eye grow more downwards and this worked to keep them swept in the right direction. I really like this product for lazy makeup days or even just to hold my brows in place after filling in with a powder or pencil. It’s not going to give you that super precise brow look, but it definitely does the job in terms of making them look fuller and more defined. I’m not sure how it would fare for someone with very sparse brows, but if you just have some thinner areas I think this is a great option.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2014/12/img_73731.jpg

Top to bottom: clean brows, one coat, two coats and brush through with a spoolie

I don’t think this will necessarily replace my Anastasia Brow Gel, but it will definitely be in rotation with it and I do see myself repurchasing once it runs out.

4 thoughts on “L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper Brow Gel Mascara Review

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2015 | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  3. Pingback: Serious ‘No Makeup’ Makeup | Always, Bree

  4. Pingback: Current favorites: May 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

