That must-have red: MAC Ruby Woo Lipstick Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7682.jpg I’ve finally tried MAC Ruby Woo and I do think it lives up to the hype. I don’t know what took me so long to get this color, but I’m sure I’ll be making up for lost time by wearing it often.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7690.jpg

L to R: Ruby Woo in the tube, swatched, on the lips

Ruby Woo is a blue toned red and very matte, MAC classifies is as Retro Matte versus their regular matte lipsticks. The formula does seem to be drier in comparison. I read that it can be hard to apply and drag on the lips, so I did exfoliate and moisturize with my Tony Moly lip balm before application. I actually didn’t think it was difficult to apply at all after doing so. I used a lip brush to keep the edges neat and filled in straight from the tube. The finish is a velvety matte and the color is just gorgeous. I think it would look good on anyone and everyone should own it. It does wear down nicely, even after having lunch, the color was still even enough where I didn’t really have to touch it up. Four hours later, I still thought it looked pretty good.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7695.jpg

After 4 hours of wear

I did touch up a little at that point and it did start to drag more and it was starting to feel drier on my lips. Not a big deal though, at least not to me. I’m happy to have another great red in my collection.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7689.jpg

A ‘no makeup’ makeup day, minus the red lip.

BTW, Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

