Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Lip Balm Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7715.jpg

The Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Lip Balm was a total impulse buy while I was standing in the checkout line at Sephora a few days ago. I figured I’d weigh in on whether it’s actually worth the investment.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7718.jpg

Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Lip Balm in Honey

The packaging was obviously the major draw into this product. Who doesn’t want shiny, bright red lips? While very cute, after using it for these past few days I do find it to be a little bulky-I actually pretty much just use it at home. I almost brought it with me one day, but I was carrying a small crossbody and it actually was a little too wide to stuff into the bag so I left it behind. Texture wise, it reminds me of Burt’s Bees in pot form, it’s a little thicker feeling on my lips and not as slippery as my Dior Creme de Rose. I got it in Honey and it smells EXACTLY like it, although there is no flavor to this balm.

I do find that it is moisturizing and that it adheres well to the lips. It’s not one of those balms that I feel I have to apply every 20 minutes. I’ve been using it as the first step in my makeup routine to prep for lipstick and before bed, also maybe once or twice in between. It is actually a great base for lipstick because it’s not so slippery that the lipstick just slides over it. It almost gives it something to stick to. My lips have been feeling pretty good when I wake up in the morning as well, but after an hour I need to put it on.

Overall, this balm is better than any drugstore lip balm I’ve tried, but not so much better than the more expensive ones I’ve tried in terms of moisturization. At 9 dollars a pop, it also isn’t as pricey as the almost 30 dollar Creme de Rose. But, I wouldn’t pay more than 9 dollars for this either. I will say I do think it works really well as a base under your lipstick, so I’ll probably be keeping this on my vanity. I am somewhat intrigued by the Tony Moly brand and I hope Sephora starts to stock more of their products soon!

5 thoughts on “Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Lip Balm Review

  1. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: First impression: Tony Moly Panda’s Dream Brightening Eye Base Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

