Product rave: The new Maybelline Master Conceal Camouflaging Concealer Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7830.jpg

Maybelline concealers are probably my favorite from the drugstore, so when I saw the Master Conceal on the shelves I just had to try it. There were three shades offered: light, light/medium, and medium. I chose light/medium. The product claims are (from the back of the tube):

  • Camouflages imperfections and dark circles
  • Full coverage, high resistance, undetectable finish
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7829.jpg

L: squeeze tip applicator; R: in shade light/medium & lightly blended

The product comes in a squeeze tube with a small tip applicator. The consistency is actually pretty thin, but not so much so that it would be runny. I thought it might be a little sheer because of this. But, I have to say I was super impressed with the Master Conceal. I used my fingers to pat a little under my eyes, blended with a pointed foundation brush, then patted again with my fingertips. For blemishes, I just patted with my finger over the blemish and lightly blended with my finger around the edges. The beauty blender also works well for application, but my favorite way to blend it is with the travel size Sigma blending brush I got as a free gift with purchase (similar to the MAC 217). Because the product is light in consistency I found I could build it up in layers without looking cakey. And you don’t need to use a ton of it to get good coverage. The light/medium can also work well as a concealer and highlighting product in one, instead of my usual routine of concealing, then highlighting with another product.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7825.jpg

L: bare face; M: with concealer under eyes & on blemishes; R: after powder foundation & rest of makeup (I know it looks super light in the middle picture after application, for some reason it made me look washed out, but in real life it doesn’t.)

The concealer also dries down well, not to a powder finish, but it’s not tacky. I still set it because of my combination skin. I think this stuff is perfect for ‘no makeup’ makeup days, or the usual full on makeup days. I used the Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder to finish off my base makeup. I will say that the concealer did not last as long on the blemish on my chin since my T-zone is oily. It was lasted fine over the blemish on my right cheek. I used my Cle de Peau concealer to touch up my chin after a few hours since it’s lasting power is better. But really, that was my only gripe about the product.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7819.jpg

Another ‘no-makeup’ makeup day.

I don’t think I’ll stop buying the Maybelline Age Rewind concealer, because that stuff is just so good too, but I probably won’t be getting the Fit Me concealer anymore. I just like the coverage and consistency of this better. I also like that I can use this for concealing dark circles and blemishes, which I couldn’t do with the Age Rewind because it’s a little too sheer for any spots that I have.

I would definitely try this out, if you do, let me know what you think!

13 thoughts on “Product rave: The new Maybelline Master Conceal Camouflaging Concealer Review

  1. Pingback: A true ‘no makeup’ makeup day. | Always, Bree

  2. Oooh, I’m just researching this product and came across your post. I love the Maybelline Age Rewind and am so-so about the Fit Me. I am going to pick this up – hopefully I’ll like it as much as you! Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: No-Buy 2015: My true 28 Days | stash matters

  4. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

