First impression review: The new Maybelline Color Sensational Lipsticks, Rebel Bloom Collection

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7867.jpg

If you’re longing for spring already, Maybelline came out with more Color Sensational lipsticks with their Rebel Bloom collection. I saw these at Target over the weekend and because I do love the Color Sensational line, I wanted to try them out. The two colors that drew me in were Rose Rush, which is a warmer, orangey red and Blushing Bud, a cool toned pink. Both lipsticks have a crème finish.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7870.jpg

L: Rose Rush & Blushing Bud; R: both swatched

I applied lip balm before applying these lipsticks and I found it took me some time to build up the color. I already have a lot of color to my lips naturally which doesn’t help matters, but it was hard for me to get an even finish (more so with the red than the pink, surprisingly). I think using a lip liner under these would probably be a better bet in my case, but I wanted to see how they perform on their own. I can apply my two favorite Color Sensational lipsticks in Warm Me Up and Make Me Pink on their own without a problem and I find them to be more opaque on my lips. I did like that I could apply both straight from the tube without it getting messy around the edges of my lip line. These lipsticks obviously aren’t super long lasting, but they are easy to reapply. I wore the red for most of they day, it’s definitely a lipstick you want to touch up because it fades more in the center than on the edges, but the second application looked more even because it did stain my lips.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7871.jpg

Wearing Rose Rush & Blushing Bud

I do really like both colors and I think they both are great for spring/summer. I probably won’t be getting any more of them because I just don’t feel like the formula is as good as the original Color Sensational lipsticks. If they had applied more opaquely it would have been much better, but oh well.

Have you tried these yet? What did you think?

One thought on “First impression review: The new Maybelline Color Sensational Lipsticks, Rebel Bloom Collection

  1. Pingback: Lipstick Lookbook: The corals | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

