A true ‘no makeup’ makeup day.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7922.jpg

It’s rare that I don’t want to put on any makeup, I actually can’t remember the last day I didn’t have a stitch of makeup on. I enjoy getting ready for the day, even when I’m not going anywhere. I just like putting on makeup, it’s my ‘me time’. But, whether it’s coming down from the holidays or just extreme laziness, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it this morning. My window for ‘makeup time’ is during Ava’s first nap and after I showered something just made me not do it. I figured I was having a literal ‘no makeup’ day.

By early afternoon, I found myself sitting at my vanity with Ava at my feet and I just had to do my makeup (could I have some compulsive makeup wearing disorder?). Despite getting 8 hours of sleep last night (thank you Ava), I still looked tired. I didn’t want to do the full routine, but I just wanted to look a little more bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. And I just couldn’t help myself.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7921.jpg

L to R: MAC Mineralized Skin Finish Natural in Medium Plus, Maybelline Baby Lips Balm, Tarte Amazonian Clay blush in Exposed

I used the Maybelline Master Conceal on my under eyes & blemishes. Then I set the concealer with the MAC MSF Natural in Medium Plus. I also dusted it all over my face, not really to add any extra coverage, but just to give my skin a little glow. I brushed the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper through my brows and used one coat of the Clinique Lash Power Feathering Mascara through my lashes (just a sample, I like it so much I’m considering getting a full size). I reverted to my go-to Tarte Amazonian Clay blush in Exposed for a light flush of color and used my Maybelline Baby Lips balm for a sheer tint of mauve (sadly, I think they discontinued this color and I can’t tell what it’s called because it’s not on the tube). You can barely see it since my lips are so dark in their own, but I still love it. This is true ‘no makeup’ makeup for me (which usually means a full face minus eyeshadow and bronzer), you can actually see my skin and it’s overall just very light. But, it’s just enough to kind of brighten up my face and make me look more awake.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7919.jpg

I wish I had taken a before picture! You can check out my review of the Maybelline Master Conceal if you want to see my bare face 🙂

If you had asked me a few months ago if I would leave the house without makeup I probably would have said no. Now, I’d be okay with it. I feel more comfortable with my skin and this year, I want to embrace the natural a little bit more.

Leave a Reply

