Product rave: the NEW(ish) L’Oreal Infallible 2-Step Lipstick Review

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7995.jpg

I saw the L’Oreal Infallible 2-Step Longwear Lipsticks at Target and had to give them a try. They boast ’24 hour wear’ and for someone who doesn’t get a chance to reapply all the time, I was intrigued.

Apparently these have been available overseas for quite some time and have finally come stateside. I did notice one of the colors I bought wasn’t part of the original release (at least from what I saw online). The colors I chose were Everlasting Mocha (the new color, a cool toned brown nude), Permanent Blush (pinky nude), and Violet Parfait (deep purple).

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7994.jpg

L to R: Violet Parfait/Everlasting Mocha/Permanent Blush in the tube; doe foot applicator; twist-up balm

The product comes in a double sided tube, one holding the lip color and a doe foot applicator and the other side being a twist up tube holding the balm. I didn’t read the instructions initially because it seemed pretty self-explanatory which ended up with me loading on the lip color and being left with a cakey mess on my lips. I actually had to wipe it off and start again. At that point I lifted the sticker on the side of the tube which revealed I should first apply a THIN layer of color, wait 2 minutes (for best results), then apply the balm. I actually applied my Tony Moly lip balm before the lip color and it made it hard to get an even coating which is why I ended up layering it on. With this product I’d recommend applying your lip balm at the start of your makeup routine, then prior to applying the color wipe off any excess balm so that the color can adhere to your lips. Or just make sure you’re lips are flake-free and you can skip the balm. The second go around went much better than the first.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7926.jpg

L to R: Violet Parfait, Everlasting Mocha, & Permanent Blush swatched

First off, the lip color has good pigmentation-I was able to get a good even coating with one layer as instructed once the balm was off my lips. I had no trouble applying with the doe foot applicator. It looks like a gloss when first applied then starts to dry and get a bit tacky feeling, leaving a kind of satin finish. It’s not comfortable and I was eager to put the gloss on after 2 minutes. The balm adds a nice shine to the lips, but it’s not super glossy. You do need to keep reapplying the balm to maintain the shine. Also, make sure you get a nice even layer, if you don’t you won’t be able to just blend it away later.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7966.jpg

Top to bottom (on the left is just the lip color & on the right is lip color with balm on top): Permanent Blush, Everlasting Mocha, Violet Parfait

After the balm, my lips felt quite comfortable and I thought it really enhanced the lip color. I had lunch and had some water and it really didn’t seem to transfer to the glass. There looked to be a very light transfer when I kissed the back of my hand. Three hours after initial application it still looked good. I reapplied the gloss, only to get the shine back, my lips didn’t feel overly uncomfortable. Six hours later the color may have dulled a bit, but honestly still looked good and was even. I again reapplied the balm and it seemed to bump the color back up again. And finally 8 hours later I took my last picture and it still was going strong. Surprisingly, I didn’t find these to be drying at all, whatever is in that balm works.

It really didn’t start to fade until about 10 hours in and by that point I’d eaten dinner, had snacks, drank more water, etc. I will say that I find the lighter shades to fade faster than the darker shade. Overall, I’m pretty impressed with this product and I want to pick up more colors next time I’m at Target.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7976.jpg

Top to bottom: 3 hours later, 6 hours later, 6 hours later with gloss reapplied, 10 hours later (sorry for all the lighting changes, I just took the picture wherever I was at the time)

BTW, those little hidden instructions say to use an oil-based makeup remover to get these off and they aren’t kidding. I don’t have any makeup remover with oil and I had a hard time getting these off my lips.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/174/76608865/files/2015/01/img_7969.jpg

L to R: Permanent Blush, Everlasting Mocha, Violet Parfait

For sure give these a try if you see them in the drugstore! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Product rave: the NEW(ish) L’Oreal Infallible 2-Step Lipstick Review

Leave a Reply

