L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Setting Spray

2015/01/img_8029.jpg

I was running low on my Urban Decay All Nighter and De-slick Makeup Setting Sprays (I prefer the former, but was trying to use both up), so when I heard that L’Oreal had come out with it’s own version I was pretty excited. Setting sprays aren’t cheap, but I really do like having them around for special occasions.

This one comes in a black spray bottle, nothing super out of the ordinary. There is an instructional card that says to hold the bottle 8-10 inches away from your face and spray in a ‘T’ and ‘X’ configuration after applying your makeup. It also boasts “all day makeup lock-in without touch ups”.

I tried this product on several occasions, with foundation, CC cream, or just powder foundation and some concealer. I also have used it with and without primer. I do like how fine the mist came out, at the time I was comparing it to the old packaging of the UD setting sprays which seemed to spray too heavily. I did not like that the spray seemed to give my face a shine that is no bueno for a girl with an oily T-zone. I waited til it dried down a little more, but I still had a little shine going and it kind of messed with the initial finish of my makeup. In this instance I had set my It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette. After about 6 hours I could definitely see the fade in my base makeup, but my blush and eyeshadow seemed to be doing okay. I left it alone, but by 8 hours I was touching up because I didn’t want to go out to dinner with my face looking like a grease ball and I needed to touch up some areas where my coverage had faded. I didn’t feel like I had to touch up my blush or eye shadow (I did end up cleaning up my mascara smudges).

2015/01/img_8023.jpg

L to R: makeup applied; with setting spray; 6 hours later; 8 hours later

In all instances of using this product, I didn’t find that my makeup lasted any longer than without a setting spray and I was not crazy about the shine it left after application. It wasn’t as bothersome with powder foundation, but my makeup wear did not look significantly extended. With the UD All Nighter, I find that after the product dries down it doesn’t alter the finish of my makeup. I’ve been dragging my feet in getting to this review because I really wanted to like this product, but after today I decided I might as well just get it over with because it just wasn’t going to work for me. If my skin was more on the drier side it actually might work better and I might not mind the extra shine so much. I know that the fact that I have combo/oily skin doesn’t help matters and this doesn’t claim to keep your face mattified. Maybe I was expecting too much? Regardless, I’m going to stick with the All Nighter for those occasions where I really need my makeup to stay put. And although not as pricey at $16.99 versus the Urban Decay, I’m likely going to be returning this one.

Have you tried this yet? What were your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Setting Spray

Leave a Reply

