First impression review: Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation Review

2015/01/img_8104.jpg

I’ve had the Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation for a couple of weeks now, but I waited on giving it a whirl because of some blemishes popping up on my cheeks and chin (I think the holiday stress was taking it’s toll). I always like to wait til I have no active breakouts before testing a new foundation so I can be sure that if I do break out, I’ll know if it was the culprit. So after a few days of no new ‘friends’ making an appearance I decided to try it today.

I have combination/oily skin so a matte and poreless foundation is pretty appealing to me. Here’s what Maybelline has to say about it (taken from their website):

Tone + texture-fitting foundation for the ultimate natural fit.
Mattifies, erases pores and matches natural tone.
For Normal to Oily Skin.
Dermatologist and allergy tested. Does not clog pores. Oil-free.

For Best Results: Apply evenly to your face and blend with your fingers.

2015/01/img_8108.jpg

Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation in 230 Natural Buff

I chose shade 230 Medium Buff, which I found to be a pretty good match. I decided to skip the primer to see how this foundation performs on its own. It comes in a glass bottle with no pump (oh well), so I poured it into the back of my hand. I used my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush to apply it (I’m not big on using my fingers to apply foundation). I found that it went on smoothly and easily while buffing it in, but this is a foundation that I would apply in sections and not dot all over your face and then blend. It seemed to dry down pretty quickly when I blended it into my hand.

2015/01/img_8106.jpg

L to R: bare face, L side with foundation applied, full face applied, after the rest of my makeup

The foundation set just a few minutes after application and felt pretty smooth so I decided to only set my undereye concealer with powder. I would say it’s more of a semi-matte finish than full on matte, which I actually really like. It didn’t give me that unnatural kind of ‘flat’ effect that more matte foundations can give. The coverage is medium to full, I only did one layer and it evened out my skin tone and covered most minor imperfections, another layer would have made it full. My pores were definitely minimized, but I can’t say they were completely wiped out on closer inspection. If you have any dry patches, this foundation will definitely cling to them, so make sure to exfoliate if you do! I also liked the feel of it on my skin, it didn’t feel heavy at all.

2015/01/img_8149.jpg

L to R: after application at 1 hr, 4 hrs, 6 hrs, & 8 hrs

I was pretty impressed by how long this foundation kept my oily skin at bay without using a primer or setting powder. An hour in and it looked as good as when I first applied it, 4 hours in some shine was starting to show, but less so than some of my other foundations. By 6 hours, I was getting shinier and by 8 hours, the foundation was definitely fading and starting to break apart around my T-zone. I know you can’t really tell from the picture because the lighting was off, but trust me it wasn’t looking good.

All in all, I do like the Matte + Poreless Foundation. It works well for the day to day, but I wouldn’t count on it for extreme long-wear. It would probably hold up better with a primer and setting powder, so I’ll probably try that the next time I use it. I think it would definitely work well for days when I need to be out for just a few hours running errands or going to lunch. Do you need to run out to get this immediately? No. But, I do think it’s worth a try if you’re looking for a new foundation.

If you’ve tried this, please let me know what you think!

7 thoughts on “First impression review: Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation Review

  1. Pingback: L’Oreal Infallible Matte Foundation Review | Always, Bree

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by! I’m sorry I can’t answer your question accurately because I’ve never tried a MAC foundation. From swatches I’ve seen, I believe I’m either an NC35 or NC37. What other foundations do you wear? I can give you shades in those if I’ve tried them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

