First impression review: L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Eyeliner

2015/01/img_8316.jpg

I’ve been in need of a new brown eyeliner for awhile, I had one by Stila that I really liked, but was hoping to find a drugstore alternative. I also have the Milani Liquefy Eyeliner Pencil in the brown shade, but they’re almost too creamy and the brown isn’t as dark as I’d like. It also has a shimmer to it that, while pretty, I don’t always want.

2015/01/img_8341.jpg

L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Eyeliner in Brown

I decided to try the L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Eyeliner as the shade of brown was just what I was looking for and I didn’t see a hint of shimmer. It also has a smudge tip on the other end which I do find convenient at times. The brand describes it as smudge-proof and has a 16 hour wear time. It’s also supposed to glide on smoothly.

2015/01/img_8345.jpg

I did find the pencil to glide on easily with no tugging at my eyelid. The smudger works as any other does, but when I can I prefer to use a brush. The color was exactly what I wanted, dark brown almost black. I found that the product does smudge easily on initial application, but definitely work fast before it sets. I usually use a powder eyeshadow to set any pencil liners either way though. I also used this to tightline, it didn’t take a million swipes to get it to stick and it didn’t rub off on my bottom waterline. All in all, I think it’s pretty good.

The one thing I found perplexing is that I assumed it was a twist up product. It doesn’t look like a typical pencil that you can sharpen either. I actually had to go read other reviews because the packaging said nothing about it and apparently you can sharpen it. I don’t need to yet, but I’ll be interested to see how it holds up in a sharpener. The wood seems almost plasticky to me.

By the end if the day it was still going strong and hadn’t smudged off into my crease which tends to happen when I use pencil liners. It was also still on my waterline. Honestly, I thought it was just as good as my black Makeup Forever Aqua Eyes in terms of staying power and pigmentation. If it sharpens well, I’ll probably just buy this liner in black too and save myself some cash.

4 thoughts on “First impression review: L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Eyeliner

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2015 | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

