For moms who hate to cook: Easy Crockpot Sriracha Honey Chicken Wings

2015/01/img_8302.jpg

I meant to take pictures of all my ingredients and what I did step-by-step, but since Ava was at my feet during prep time and I had to keep an eye on her too, it just didn’t happen. But because they were so good I had to share this recipe that I found on Pinterest. Mine didn’t come out as beautifully glazed looking as the original, but I didn’t want to go through all the steps to get them to that level (we were starving by that point). I brushed them twice with the sauce before broiling them instead. And since they came out of the slow cooker the meat literally fell off the bone. I was worried they’d be off the charts spicy because of all the Sriracha, but the honey balanced them well. My husband was all over them and I made Ava something separate because of the spice, but I swear this girl has a radar for chicken wings. So I ended up carefully pulling pieces off with as little sauce as possible and she was ate it up!

Easy Crockpot Sriracha Honey Chicken Wings (from The Slow Roasted Italian)
4 pounds chicken wing drumettes, frozen
3/4 cup sriracha sauce (Huy Fong Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, the one with the rooster on the package)
3/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
juice of one lime (about 1/4 cup)

In a 5 quart slow cooker on low add srirachasauce, butter, honey and lime juice.  Stir to combine.  Add chicken wings.  Stir until wings are well coated.  Cook on low 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

Remove wings from slow cooker and place on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Drizzle sauce from slow cooker over wings.

Set oven to broil.  Place baking sheet in oven and bake for 2-3 minutes until the sauce starts to caramelize.  Remove from oven, serve and enjoy.

COOK’S NOTE:  If you like a thick sauce coating, transfer the sauce to a saucepan and boil it until it cooks down, approximately 5-8 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Then brush or drizzle the sauce over the wings.

You can also layer the sauce on the wings.  Coat wings with sauce, broil for 1 minute, remove from oven.  Coat with sauce, broil 1 minute.  Add more sauce, broil until sauce is caramelized.

If you’re looking for an easy meal to add to your rotation, try this out! If you like spicy & sweet together, I think you’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

