First impression review: Covergirl Full Lash Bloom Waterproof Mascara

2015/01/img_8413.jpg

I’ve seen the Covergirl Full Lash Bloom Waterproof Mascara many times while browsing the beauty aisle at Target, but nothing about it made me want to try it. It just looked kind of cutesy in the pink tube with a flower printed on the side, I almost couldn’t take it seriously. I was sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office yesterday and picked up the latest issue of Glamour magazine to pass the time. That’s when my eyes landed on the ad for this mascara featuring Katy Perry. And her lashes looked divine. I know makeup companies add false lashes and what not to really pump up what the mascara can supposedly do, but if this mascara could in any way help me get full, volumized, and feathery looking lashes like Katy’s I wanted to try it. Target should really use the picture with her on their display, it wasn’t at my local store and if it had been I probably would have tried this sooner. Anyway, as soon as I was done with my check-up I was on my way to the drugstore to pick it up.

2015/01/img_8415.jpg

New brush design of the Full Lash Bloom.

Covergirl says that the Full Lash Bloom Mascara Waterproof (taken from the packaging):

  • NEW Lash Bloom brush, with short and long bristles, creates volume from root to tip and combs and coats lashes evenly for full separated volume.
  • waterproof formula provides volume that stays soft to the touch all day.
  • ophthalmologically tested
  • suitable for contact lens wearers

I got mine in black and of ccurse, got the waterproof formula. Again the brush has plastic bristles, short and long, instead of just the short that Lash Blast Volume has. I actually really like the formula of this mascara, it’s not too wet even on the first use and I found it to coat my lashes evenly. I’m not sure if it’s due to the new brush design, but I thought it separated my lashes well and was easy to brush through without getting any mascara on my lids. It also really adds good volume and length to my lashes on just the first coat. I could even just leave it at the one coat, but of course I wanted to see how it would build. And two coats are always better than one. It didn’t find it to be clumpy on the second coat and I didn’t feel like a third was even necessary. But even with just the one, I was impressed by how good it looked!

2015/01/img_8423.jpg

Top to bottom: no mascara just curled, one coat, two coats

If you’ve read any of my other mascara reviews, you know that the smudge factor is my biggest mascara gripe. And the smudge factor of this one is minimal, even less than the Maybelline Lash Sensational (my current favorite). I usually get the raccoon eyes starting to form 2-3 hours after applying mascara, this lasted a good 5 hours before noticing a hint of darkness and it was barely noticeable (probably only to me). By the time I washed my face that night, almost 10 hours later, it was still looking really good. There was zero flaking as well. If you haven’t gotten this yet, I highly recommend it!

And you know I didn’t hit the drugstore and leave with just one thing.

2015/01/img_8399.jpg

I obviously have no self-control.

Yup, I’m banning myself from the drugstore for the next week. But, I’m happy with what I got and can’t wait to start using them!

8 thoughts on “First impression review: Covergirl Full Lash Bloom Waterproof Mascara

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2015 | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Some things are just better together: Maybelline Lash Sensational + Covergirl Full Lash Bloom | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

