Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks Review

2015/01/img_8412.jpg

I’m pretty sure I’m late to the game on these ones, but the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks are new to me. When I was at the drugstore the other day, they were part of the display with some other new Rimmel products (including a 25 hour foundation!) so I assumed they were new, but after going online to look for more colors I found that they aren’t. Maybe some of the colors are new releases? Anyway, I’ve noticed that eyeshadow sticks/pencils seem to be the popular thing lately-I’ve been wanting to try the ones from Laura Mercier and Bobbi Brown, but I tend to try to balance my spending in terms of beauty. I just ordered all that Ole Henriksen skincare, therefore I’m limiting my makeup spending (although it also adds up, I don’t even want to say how much I spent total at the drugstore that day). The only shadow sticks I’ve ever tried are the Nyx Jumbo Eye pencils, but when I saw that these are 24 hour wear and really loved some of the shades offered, I decided to pick them up.

2015/01/img_8425.jpg

From L to R: Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks in Bluffing, Bootleg Brown, Bad Girl Bronze, Trespassing Taupe

I obviously gravitated towards the more neutral shades, I was actually really excited to see the matte brown and taupe color. They also had a gold shimmer shade, but I held back thinking if I like them I could always go back and buy them later. After the first swatch, I was already excited to try these on my eyes because of how smoothly they glided on. I can only describe the sensation as velvety, there was no tugging feeling like I get from my Nyx pencils (I only have two: French Fries and Milk if you’re wondering). I did use two swipes of the pencil to get the pigmentation shown on my forearm, all of the colors built up easily. I was so excited about all the colors I decided to try to use all of them to create my eye look for the day. I used Bluffing on my lid & inner corner, Trespassing Taupe in my crease, Bootleg Brown just at the outer third of my lashline smudged out, and Bad Girl Bronze on the outer 2/3 of my lower lashline. The only powder shadow I used was MAC Brule on my brow bone.

2015/01/img_8424.jpg

An eye look using all four shades.

These applied as nicely to my lids as they did on my forearm, no tugging or pulling at all. I thought they blended nicely, I worked quickly after application with a fluffy blending brush or pencil brush after swiping on the color. It was easy to layer the color and blend to build it up. And they pretty much stayed put the entire day with no creasing (FYI, I’ve tested with and without primer). I think these are gorgeous on their own or used as a base for a regular shadow.

2015/01/img_8426.jpg

I can’t speak to the 24 hour claim, but I did find these to be long lasting, I found that any fading was minimal and only on my lid because most of mine tends to get hidden in the crease of my eye and I think the rubbing every time I blink contributes to that. Again, it’s minimal.

I love the shadow sticks and I think my urge to buy the higher end ones has been satisfied by these. There’s a grey and black shade that I want to get as well (I actually picked up Bulletproof Beige at Target today). And the gold. And purple. Okay, I’d take them all, but these are my top picks!

I’m actually a little afraid to try the more expensive ones, I’m guessing they’ll be equally addicting.

To sum up, the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks get my stamp of approval!

7 thoughts on “Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Sticks Review

  1. Shadow Sticks are definitely catching on, and I’m glad to see it. I’m a huge fan of the Laura Mercier ones. Rimmel has some excellent stuff, so I’d love to get my hands on their shadow sticks.

    The colors you got are lovely, reminiscent of LM’s neutrals. And oooh, no creasing? Now I must find these. :p

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks I’ll definitely check it out!

        Also, if you have any recommendations for anything beauty related that you can only get in the PI, please share them too! My parents are going home next month and I was going to ask my mom to bring me back anything she thought I might like, but your input would be helpful ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • I suggest Happy Skin http://store.happyskincosmetics.com/index.php

        Their Shut Up & Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippies are rapidly gaining popularity because of great pigmentation. Personally, it took me some time to get on the Happy Skin bandwagon because I’m at the point where I’m just looking for insanely specific shades, but I got hooked when I finally got around to trying one. Their eye makeup is also frequently talked-about in the blogging circles.

        I’ll get back to you if I think of something else. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

