Product rave: L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Gloss Review (and an OOTN)

2015/01/img_8427.jpg Another part of my little drugstore haul from last week were the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Glosses. I recently reviewed their Infallible 2-Step Lipsticks, so I wasn’t expecting to see another new lip product from them so soon. I almost didn’t pick them up, but I was so intrigued by the ‘Matte Gloss’ name, I had to see what they were all about. The shades I chose were Blushing Ambition, Nude Allure, and Rouge Envy.

2015/01/img_8551.jpg

L to R: Blushing Ambition, Rouge Allure, Nude Ambition

These come in the typical lipgloss tube with a doe foot applicator, except this one is more triangular in shape and seems to have a bit of an indent in the center which I assume is to catch more product. The ‘gloss’ is super pigmented and a little thicker, but more smooth in texture than a typical gloss. They kind of remind me of the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams, but beter. I love the formula and the applicator, I didn’t need a lip brush to get an even layer and it was easy to get close the edges of my lips without making a mess. They don’t feel drying on the lips, the finish is more semi-matte than full on matte to me. They also don’t emphasize any dry patches you might have. And when you press your lips together the only word I can use to describe the feeling is plush. My only gripe was that Blushing Ambition turned out to be a little brighter and cooler than I was expecting, I was expecting more of a rosy pink. Nude Allure is a more orangey nude and Rouge Allure a dark pink. I’m kind of awful at describing shades of things, but that’s my best shot.

2015/01/img_8552.jpg

L to R: Nude Allure, Rouge Envy, Blushing Ambition

I’m kind of in love with these glosses, I tried one of the Nyx lip creams and just hated the look and feel of it. These are what I would have wanted them to be. I wore Nude Allure today and found it to wear well, after lunch it faded, but not enough to touch up. But by 3 hours, I definitely needed another layer as most of the color towards the center had faded (there was a lot of eating and drinking happening during this time just so you know). There was no specific long wear claim on the packaging. That doesn’t bother me though, I want more of these! I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve been trying to sort through my closet and figure out what I need and what needs to go. It’s actually been helpful in figuring out what I’m missing as well. I stopped buying black clothes for awhile because I felt I had too much, but most of what I haven’t worn in forever (stuff I bought in college) and decided to give away. I really just needed a basic black sweater. I opted for this one from H&M.

2015/01/img_8550.jpg

H&M lightweight V-neck sweater, Forever 21 black pants, grey suede boots, Chanel 2.55

Saturday night was date night, which hasn’t happened in awhile due to the holidays and other gatherings. We went to dinner in the city so I decided to wear it with black pants and grey knee high boots. I love the sweater, it’s a perfectly slouchy light weight knit that I know I’ll get a ton of wear out of. And when you don’t have much time to pick out an outfit, you can’t go wrong with black. We’re already thinking about our next date night since Grandma and Grandpa are going home to the Philippines next month and they are our primary babysitters. We’re trying to maximize our opportunities to get out of the house sans-baby while we can!

7 thoughts on “Product rave: L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte Gloss Review (and an OOTN)

  1. Pingback: Gimme a V. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Rimmel Show Off Lip Velvet Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

