Is it worth the hype (and price tag)?: Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer Review

2015/01/img_8667.jpg

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

I know I’ve mentioned the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer before, I had a sample size from Sephora and ended up buying the full size during the VIB sale. I’d been using the Benefit Primed and Poreless prior to it and I felt like it was doing the job. It has a skin colored tint to it so it helps to start evening out your skin and it’s mattifying. I used the Mineral Veil here and there just to try it out and didn’t really think much of it until I started noticing my makeup just looked better when I used it. That whole ‘lit from within’ thing that people talk about. My skin just seemed brighter and more glowing. This stuff isn’t cheap ($52 for the 1 oz, $72 for the limited edition 2 oz at Sephora), it’s the most expensive primer I’ve ever purchased so when the VIB sale came around I knew I’d better take advantage. And I’ve pretty much been using it ever since, occasionally going back to my other primers so I don’t run through it so quickly. The company says it:

• Extends the durability of any foundation or powder.

• Minimizes the appearance of visible pores, fine lines and imperfections.

• Conceals redness (even rosacea) to create an even skin tone.

• The weightless formula is not greasy, tacky, pearlized and it won’t ball up

• The unique texture is fluid, airy, silky and cushiony.

• Offers Broad Spectrum SPF 15 with mineral-derived physical sunscreens, Titanium and Zinc Oxide.

2015/01/img_8671.jpg

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

This feels different than other primers I’ve tried that are usually thicker and silicone based. The Mineral Veil is more liquid in consistency, but glides on smoothly. Any blemishes and imperfections are instantly minimized (not completely of course) and my skin just looks better. I like that there is some SPF in this product, especially when I’m using my day moisturizer that has none. I don’t need to take the extra step to apply sunscreen to my face. But I would sometimes to wonder, is it really making a difference? Am I just buying into the hype? I never really thought to do this before, but to put the product to the test I decided to apply it to just one side of my face before applying my makeup. Then I’d be able to really compare if one side actually looked better than the other. I applied the Mineral Veil to the left side of my face and then used the L’Oreal Infallible Matte Foundation over it. I did set my undereye concealer, but didn’t use any setting powder elsewhere to make sure it wouldn’t affect the look of my makeup.

2015/01/img_8642.jpg

Primer on just the left side of my face with makeup applied over it (the side without the mole on my chin).

And I can totally tell a difference. The left side of my face just looks better than the right. It adds this brightness to my skin and blurs out my imperfections. The right side just seems more dull and any imperfections in my skin are more evident. Over the course of the day, the makeup on my left side looked overall better (I didn’t have time to take pictures throughout the day, but I don’t think the differences would have shown well unless in natural lighting). Interestingly, my mascara smudged more on my right side, I never realized that the primer was making a difference in that aspect. I was still getting a little of that ‘soft focus’ effect by the end of the day (9 hours later), but I actually did find that my left side was slightly shinier than the right in my T-zone, which surprised me. It wasn’t terrible or anything, but I think that’s something to consider if you’re looking for more oil control. So do I think it’s worth it? Yes. I just love how it makes my skin and makeup look better and brighter. And my makeup stays put longer than without it. Again, if your skin is just oily, I’d probably lean more towards a primer that is specifically mattifying. But, with my combination skin it still worked well. I’m guessing that it would be amazing on dry skin. I will say that I’m going to wait for the sale to repurchase this, even if I run out. It just seems wrong to pay full price for it when I can get 20% off. If you don’t have the VIB card or just don’t have a Sephora near you, I would still go for it. I haven’t tried another primer that has the same effect, but if anyone has found one that’s more affordable, please share!

10 thoughts on “Is it worth the hype (and price tag)?: Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer Review

  1. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: E.L.F. Eyelid Primer VS E.LF. Mineral Primer Review

Leave a Reply

