Product rave: the Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

2015/01/img_8828.jpg

The Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer is my all-time favorite highlighter, the best of the best, HG, can’t live without it highlighter. I know, big words. I’m hesitant to even say ‘holy grail’, but really it is. I compare all other highlighters I acquire to it. And I haven’t found one I like better. I’m surprised that I haven’t mentioned it yet in these past 4 months of blogging, but it had been put on the back burner since getting the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette, then the Charlotte Tilbury Bronze & Glow. I happily brought it back out this week.

2015/01/img_8836.jpg

L to R: Mary-Lou Manizer in the pan, swatched, & on my face

It’s a beautiful shimmery champagne colored highlighter with no glitter. I use a duo fiber brush to apply it to the high points of my cheeks, bridge of my nose, Cupid’s bow and chin. It just gives the perfect amount of glow, and it never gives me that shiny, obvious highlighted look.

2015/01/img_8837.jpg

FOTD

This highlighter is true to it’s name, it really makes your skin look luminous. It blends into the skin so nicely and makes your skin look brighter. If you don’t own this yet, you should. This gets a lot of hype, but it’s well deserved.

2015/01/img_8793-0.jpg

Today’s roundup.

My makeup mood changes so quickly, one week I’m all about minimal makeup, the next I’m into smoky eyes and contoured cheeks. Lately, I’ve been wanting an overall glowy, more natural look. For concealer I used my CDP on any blemishes and Maybelline’s Master Conceal under my eyes, then set it with Incandescent Light from the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette. I used my MAC Mineralized Skin Finish Natural in Medium Plus all over my face and Medium Dark around the edges of my face and where I would normally use bronzer. The MSF Naturals are my favorite way to get glowing skin. I kept the eyes light with my Rimmel Shadow Stick in Bulletproof Beige as a base, then layered Sin from the Naked palette over it. I used Naked in my crease with Buck more towards the outer edge. I skipped the liquid liner and used the Covergirl Full Lash Bloom mascara on my lashes. To keep the brows more natural, I just kept it to the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper. I highlighted with the Mary-Lou Manizer of course and used the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso for even more glow. Lastly, I used my little sample of Benefit’s Posiebalm on my lips.

What makeup looks are you loving lately?

10 thoughts on “Product rave: the Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Leave a Reply

