3 Skincare resolutions.

IMG_9076

I’ve always felt like I was pretty serious about my skincare, but I never truly focused further than my face. I decided that this year I really need to make a more conscious effort to take it to the next level.

1. Help your hands.
The dryness of my hands I’ve experienced this winter has reached a peak. I’ve had red patches and cracked skin. It’s worse than when I was working in a hospital setting and was non-stop washing my hands for eight hours a day. We’ve all heard that our hands is one if the places we show signs of aging and I realized I better start ASAP before things get any worse. I picked up the Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream after reading an article on Refinery 29 about taking care of our hands. I’ve only just started to use it, so I’ll share my thoughts once had more time with it. I’m trying to get used to applying it throughout the day to keep my hands moisturized and protected from the sun. Another good tip I read was to apply any excess product you dispense to the backs of your hands, if it’s helping your face it can’t hurt your hands.

2. Paint outside the lines.
For a long time I only applied my skincare to my face, then recently I would occasionally extend to my neck if I happened to have taken a little extra moisturizer than necessary. Now I’m applying any treatments, serums, and moisturizers to my neck and décolletage. During the day I also make sure to apply sunscreen. You know when you’re watching celebs on the red carpet and you think
‘Wow, she’s looking good!’ Then you pan down to their neck and chest and you realize they have a really good makeup artist. This is the other area that will give you away, why bother taking such good care of your face when you have hyper pigmentation and wrinkles just a quick glance down?

3. Breakup with your makeup.
For at least a day. More if you can. Most of what I write about here is beauty so I don’t think anyone would be that shocked to hear that I wear makeup every day. It’s a daily ritual for me to put Ava down for her nap, shower, and sit at my vanity to do my makeup while watching YouTube videos (I love watching It’s Judy’s Life). It’s my ‘me time’ for the day and I thoroughly enjoy it. But, I woke up one morning and realized I still had one of the Rimmel Provocalips on my mouth despite using my DIY lip scrub with olive oil to help remove it the night before. I realized who knows how much makeup is really still left lingering elsewhere? I decided not to put any makeup on that day, and that I’d take at least one real no makeup day a week to let my skin breathe. It was actually kind of nice, instead of my usual routine, I laid in bed for awhile and read. I think I’m so used to my face with makeup on, it’s hard to go without it sometimes. I’m hoping this will teach me to be a little more comfortable with my bare face.

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions of any kind, I don’t think I’ve ever made one. Definitely not within the last 10 years. I always feel like I’m setting myself up for failure. So I’m not giving it the big title of New Year’s resolutions. They are skincare resolutions and so far so good.

And just a side note, if you’re a Pats fan, HIGH FIVE! 😀

6 thoughts on “3 Skincare resolutions.

  1. Pingback: Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

