Down to earth with a little drama.

IMG_9075

I was going for a very earth-toned, muted browns and taupes kind of look today. I had actually done it last week and really liked it, but it was so basic I didn’t really want to post about it. Until today when I tried to recreate it and realized I forgot what eyeshadows I had used and it just didn’t look the same. I still like this, but something about the original from last week I just liked more. I’m pretty sure I used MAC’s Soft Brown and Wedge in my crease instead of the Naked and Buck from the Naked palette-I’ll do this again sometime to find out if that’s what I did wrong. The next time anyone asks me why I need so much eyeshadow, it’s because it actually makes a difference in how a look turns out, no matter how subtle. And I decided to post about it in case I forget again, I’ll have something to look back on. Note to self: if you like a look, post about it even if just for your own reference.

IMG_9074

Top to bottom: MAC Velvet Teddy lipstick, Rimmel Scandaleyes in Trespassing Taupe, Naked & Buck from the Naked palette

All I did was use Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Trespassing Taupe on my lid, Naked more diffusely on my crease, and Buck a little more concentrated closer to the fold in my eyelid. I used MAC’s Velvet Teddy on my lips-one of my favorite nudes. Nothing crazy.

IMG_9004

Although I was going for this almost monotone, but very natural look, I couldn’t stop there. I needed a little extra something.

IMG_9042

I’m having a little love affair with individual lashes lately, and because I’m not big on wearing liquid liner lately they blend better with my actual lashes and look more ‘natural’ than using a lash strip. It reminds me of when I got married almost three years ago and I got eyelash extensions. Sometimes I think of doing them again, but the upkeep (and cost!) is just too much and I don’t want to damage my natural lashes again. Lemme tell you, it takes awhile to get them back to their normal fullness. And it’s easy to just add a few in at the ends and call it a day. I used a mix of medium and short Ardell individuals like I would if I were wearing liner, but I think next time I’ll just use the short. I think the mediums lend themselves better to winged out liner.

Anyway, hope you’re nice and warm where you are, after getting hit last week by Juno, we got even more snow yesterday! I’m really starting to look forward to spring.

14 thoughts on “Down to earth with a little drama.

Leave a Reply

