Shop my stash: Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer

IMG_9158

I haven’t used the Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer in what feels like forever. Definitely more than a year. I saw it in my drawer and thought I’d pull it out again just because I’d kind of forgotten how much I like it. The thing about this product is that it’s extremely versatile. You can use it as concealer, foundation, or mix it with your moisturizer and turn it into a tinted moisturizer. I’m not really sure how to describe the it, their website simply calls it a ‘skin enhancer’. It’s just an everything in one for perfect skin. If I had to put a name on it myself, I’d call it a cream color base, it’s very pigmented and little bit goes a long way. And I have to warn you guys, if you don’t want to fuss too much with your base makeup this is NOT for you. It’s a cream consistency and it’s thick. It does not spread easily. I use a damp beautyblender to apply it on it’s own as a foundation, but you really have to finesse this stuff. It’s not a ‘I’m late and I only have half an hour to get out the door’ type product. I usually put a little on the back of my hand, dab it with the beauty blender, then do the whole tap and roll all over my face (I don’t recommend a brush to apply this). Then I continue taking little by little until my entire face is covered. You do not want to go crazy with this stuff, it won’t be pretty. The key is just going in layer by layer until you’re happy with the coverage. The finish is amazing though, it seriously looks like your skin, but better. And I never have to bother spot concealing afterwards with a different product because the coverage is so good. The name is spot on. But, you can get light to full coverage out of it. And if you’re willing to take the time to work with it, I think you’ll really like it.

IMG_9161

Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer in SX08

I’ve used it as a concealer for blemishes and redness around my nose and as a tinted moisturizer. This stuff will cover everything, I usually dab it on with a finger in small amounts until I’m happy with the coverage. And even as a tinted moisturizer you don’t need to add a ton to your usual moisturizer and it mixes in easily. I use my Real Techniques perfecting face brush to apply it when I do this. The shade I got is for use as my base makeup so it’s a bit too dark to use on my under eye concealer, but I’m sure it would be awesome for that, too.

IMG_9157

L to R: bare face, after application of foundation only, with undereye concealer

Since taking it out again, I haven’t been able to stop using it in one form or another. I just can’t get enough of the finish, it seriously just looks like skin. And it wears great throughout the day. Although it’s a cream base, it doesn’t make me super oily. The downside is that it’s not cheap ($48 at Nordstrom), but you use so little it will last a long time. I’d suggest going to a counter to pick your shade and check it out before purchasing because it’s expensive and if you can get a sample to try out that would help you decide if it’s worth the money. I definitely needed to apply this a few times before getting the hang of it.

IMG_9145

I’m so glad I pulled this out again, I’ve been obsessed with it for the past few days. If you’ve tried this, let me know what you think of it!

9 thoughts on “Shop my stash: Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer

  1. Pingback: My ‘top drawer’ makeup. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

