Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream Review

IMG_9615

I mentioned in my 3 Skincare resolutions post that I am trying to take better care of my hands. I first heard about the Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream while reading a post on hand care from Refinery29. My hands have been incredible dry this winter and I really need something to get them back into good condition. And it seemed like a good idea to get a product with SPF for sun protection as well as having some anti-aging properties. This hand cream is supposed to reduce fine lines, age spots, and increase elasticity (all per the packaging). It also claims to strengthen nails and moisturize cuticles. I don’t have age spots or fine lines, but I like the elasticity boosting aspect of this cream. It’s also supposed to maintain moisture even after washing your hands, which I do constantly. I’m actually terrible at remembering to use hand creams and lotions, until I get to this point where I don’t even want to look at my hands anymore and they feel drier than the Sahara. I made a concerted effort to use this hand cream regularly throughout the day, keeping it in our living room where we spend most of our time. I probably used it at least 3-5 times a day. I didn’t use it at nighttime because I figured I’d save the SPF for the daylight hours, instead it smother my hands in the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream that I use as my daily body moisturizer.

IMG_9625

Boot No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream with SPF 15

I’ve been using this for at least 2 weeks, I thought about waiting a whole month to share my thoughts on it, but I feel pretty confident that nothing is going to change my feelings on it.

I don’t like it.

Let’s get to the first reason why this product did not win my heart. I don’t feel that it’s actually a hand cream, it’s more like a lotion. Basically it’s like a lighter sunscreen consistency, you don’t have to work hard to get it to absorb into your skin, but it’s not that rich, luxurious cream I was expecting. The smell I find pleasant, there is a slight hint of sunscreen scent, but nothing overwhelming. I feel like I have to use a lot of it to really make my hands feel moisturized (maybe bigger than a quarter-sized dollop). It does leave your hands looking shiny, which doesn’t really bother me, but I know my husband would hate that kind of thing. The second issue I have with this product is that it doesn’t seem to keep my  hands moisturized for long, whether I have or haven’t washed my hands between uses. I feel like after maybe an hour, the dry patches I have around the web spaces of my thumb & fingers have already started to look dry and flaky. Finally, the overall condition of my hands is minimally improved. There were two areas of minor dryness that have resolved, but otherwise my hands are still as dry as when I started. Honestly, it’s just annoying that less than an hour after application I look down and my hands are looking dry again.

If you have more minimal levels of dry going on, this may work better for you. I’m at the ‘my skin is cracking and flaking’ level for your reference. I’m considering using this at bedtime too, just to see if the results will be better. I also think that this might perform better in the summer when I’m not so dry anyway. For the winter, it’s just not cutting it. And it wasn’t cheap, at Target I paid around $15 for the 2.5 oz. tube.

Well, I tried. On to the next. If you have any recommendations, please share! Bonus points if it also contains SPF or has some kind of anti-aging benefits.

 

4 thoughts on “Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Hand Cream Review

Leave a Reply

