By default: Smokey eyes & nude lips.

IMG_9473

With Valentine’s Day approaching, I thought I’d share my go-to eye look for any special occasion. I finally got my hands on the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Blackmail and wanted to give it a test drive as an eyeshadow base. And what I really wanted to share are my favorite eye shadows for a smokey eye & lipstick and liner duo for nude lips. I always go straight for these products when I’m going for this look because I just love the way they work together and I know I’ll be happy with the outcome.

IMG_9464

L to R swatched: MAC Handwritten, MAC Soft Brown, Naked 2 Blackout, Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Blackmail, Maybelline lipstick in Warm Me Up, Rimmel lipliner in Innocent

I started off using Blackmail as my base, applying it directly to my lid staying under my lid line then blending with a fluffy brush at the edges. I packed Blackout over Blackmail, again keeping it under my lid line, and then got back to blending. I applied MAC Brule to my brow bone, then used Soft Brown to blend out the black shadow and transition into the brow highlight. I deepened up the crease towards the outer edge with a little bit of Handwritten and then did more blending. I smudged Handwritten onto the outer 2/3 of my lower lash line and used Blackout just at the very outer third. And to bring a little bit of light back into my eyes, I used MAC Rice Paper on the inner 1/3 of my lower lash line and the highlight from the Charlotte Tilbury Bronze and Glow on the inner corners of my eyes. I used the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper on my upper lash line, no wing. I tightlined my upper and lower waterline with the L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Liner in Brown. Then I applied Ardell 135 lashes-I’d usually use demi wispies, but they were no where to be found. I used Innocent to line and fill in my lips and applied Warm Me Up over it.

IMG_9474

Smokey eyes + nude lips.

I just love Soft Brown as the transition color when doing a smokey eye. The warm tone of it is just perfect. I only own five MAC eyeshadows and it is by far my most used shade. And I always turn to Warm Me Up when I’m not sure which nude lipstick to go with because it pretty much works with any eye look I’m going for. And by the way, I was happy with Blackmail as an eyeshadow base, it performs just as well as the other shadow sticks I’ve tried.

To be honest, my husband and I will be spending Valentine’s Day in with Ava, just like we did last year when she was just two months old. But the holiday will always hold a special place in my heart because it’s the day he proposed to me. And what better way to spend such a special day than with the two people I love the most?

6 thoughts on “By default: Smokey eyes & nude lips.

Leave a Reply

