Just for fun: The Beauty Questions Tag

IMG_9808

I stole this tag from Miss Jen of Dorkchops (thank you!), I enjoyed learning more about her beauty life and thought I’d share too! Hubs is here to help me tag team the little one today so I had a little extra time on my hands to squeeze this in.

S k i n c a r e

How many times do you wash your face daily?
Twice, morning and night. But I had a very lazy day last week where I didn’t get to it until my evening shower (oops). Don’t worry, I did manage to at least brush my teeth that morning.

What skin type do you have?
Oily/combo, but I don’t know if it’s just this winter or if I’m just getting older (yikes!), but I feel much drier outside of my T-zone lately.

What is your current face wash?
The Ole Henriksen Aloe Vera Cleanser.

Do you exfoliate?
Yes, but not as often as I should. I’m still waiting for my Tata Harper daily cleanser/exfoliator to come in (the snow is endless), so I can incorporate it into my routine.

What moisturiser do you use?
In the morning I use Sheer Transformation and at night I use Nurture Me, both from Ole Henriksen.

Do you have freckles?
Nope, but I think they’re cute.

Do you use eye cream?
Yes, I’m actually trying a few samples out right now because I need a change! I had been using the Clinique All About Eyes, before that the L’Occitane Immortelle. I’m looking to start bringing in the big guns for my eye area because becoming a mother and entering my 30’s has given me a permanent tired look.

Did you or do you have acne prone skin?
Yes, it’s under control lately, but I need to be diligent about my skincare to keep it that way. I think my skin was actually better in my teen years.

M a k e u p

What foundation do you use?
For days when I know I’m having photos taken, I use the MUFE HD. For day to day for the most part, I’ve been using the Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer either on it’s own or as a tinted moisturizer. But honestly, I tend to jump around a bit depending on my mood.

How about concealer?
The Nars Creamy Concealer in Custard and the Maybelline Master Conceal in light/medium.

Do you know your undertone colour?
Yellow with a bit of olive.

What do you think of fake eyelashes?
A must for special occasions, and sometimes for the regular days too!

Did you know that you are supposed to change your mascara every 3 months?
Yes, but I don’t mark my calendar or anything. By the time mine are dried out or are too clumpy I’m pretty sure I’m within the mark.

Sephora or MAC?
Sephora! I like to have options. πŸ™‚

What makeup tools do you use for makeup application?
The beautyblender, makeup brushes (I have brushes ranging from e.l.f. to Bobbi Brown), and sometimes my fingers (usually for concealer).

Do you use a makeup base/primer for the eyes?
Yes, currently the Nars Pro Prime is my favorite.

For the face?
Yes, the Hourglass Veil Primer is like better skin in a bottle. But, I do rotate the Benefit Primed and Poreless in too!

What is your favourite eyeshadow shade?
Any matte brown or shimmery bronze shades are my favorite. There are days where I’ll just contour a bit in my crease or just swipe a bit of bronze over my lids.

Do you use pencil or liquid eyeliner?
Pencil everyday just to tight line unless I’m doing a cat eye, then it’s liquid.

How often do you poke your eyes with a pencil eyeliner?
Not that often, but it has happened! I did once poke my eye with my mascara brush and ended up with a corneal abrasion!

What do you think of pigment eyeshadows?
I have a gold one from the drugstore, I’ve probably used it once. For me they’re a bit too fussy, even for special occasions.

What do you think of mineral makeup?
I like them. I used Bare Minerals for a good many years, but just kind of grew out if it. I do love my MAC MSF Naturals as of late.

What is your favourite lipstick?
Maybelline Warm Me Up. It never fails me.

Do you like drugstore makeup?
Yup!

Did you ever consider taking makeup classes?
It would be fun, but I’ve never sought one out.

Are you clumsy in putting on makeup?
Like do I drop makeup brushes and loose fake eyelashes only to find them stuck to my shirt an hour later? Then yes, I am. πŸ™‚

Name a makeup crime that you hate.
Just makeup in general (blush, contour, eyeshadow) that hasn’t been blended.

Do you like colourful shades of makeup?
For everything but eyeshadow, I haven’t worn anything other than neutrals in forever.

Which celebrities always have great makeup?
Jennifer Lopez, Jessica Alba, Scarlett Johansson…I just think they’re gorgeous women.

If you could leave the house wearing just one makeup item, what would you choose?
Concealer. Brightening up my under eyes wakes up my entire face.

Could you leave the house without putting any makeup on?
Yes, but I prefer not to!

In your opinion, what’s the BEST beauty line?
That’s tough. I will say I’m really liking Hourglass right now though. I don’t have a ton from the brand as of yet, but I like how their products are also formulated to improve your skin and their concept of using science and technology to create their products.

Lastly, what do you think of makeup?
I think it’s fun, it can change your entire mood and I love how it can enhance your features and make you feel more confident.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading my answers as much as I enjoyed sharing them!

On a side note, I just got an email from Sephora announcing that they are now carrying Giorgio Armani beauty! I’ve heard great things about their foundations and Eyes To Kill mascara, so I’m pretty excited. I know I can get their range at Nordstrom, but I always tend to buy from Sephora so I can rack up my points!

7 thoughts on “Just for fun: The Beauty Questions Tag

  1. I’ve been curious to try the Nars Creamy Concealer but I just love the Maybelline Age Rewind so much, I’m not sure if something 3x the price is going to knock it off its pedestal! I’m going to do this tag one day – it’s fun! But that question about the BEST beauty line is a trick question. Does. Not. Compute.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Age Rewind is really good, it will always be my fave drugstore concealer! It is way too hard to pick one line, I don’t think one brand has every one of my favorites.

      Like

Leave a Reply

