A beauty mini quickie: Benefit Lollitint

IMG_9929

I don’t usually like the whole liquid lip tint/cheek stain thing, I’ve tried the Benefit Benetint in the distant past and it just wasn’t for me. I just feel like these things are too hard to blend and can look patchy. I’ve had this little sample of the Benefit Lollitint for awhile and decided to give it a try after reading Jen’s post on a similar product. According to Benefit, it’s smudge-proof with great lasting power.

IMG_9925

Benefit Lollitint swatched, on the lips & cheeks.

I used my fingers to apply this product, applying it to the pads of my ring fingers then dabbing it on to my cheeks and lips. Benefit recommends brushing three strokes, then blending quickly, but I was afraid I’d end up with three streaks across my cheekbones. Not a good look. Even when I tried to blend a swatch on my wrist, you could distinctly see the swipe I made with the brush, so I’m glad I didn’t follow the instructions.

IMG_9916

Pros:

  • The color is beautiful! I think it’s perfect for the winter and this upcoming spring.
  • It does have great lasting power on the cheeks, it did not fade all day.
  • It was not patchy when I used my fingertips to apply to my cheeks as described above.
  • It is buildable and you can get a sheer to dark wash of color depending on how much you layer.

Cons:

  • You need to work fast otherwise you will have patches or stripes on your cheeks.
  • It will cling to dry patches on your lips.
  • It does seem to fade on the lips.
  • It does take some time to build up the color. I had to dip in several times to really get the amount of pigmentation I wanted. I wouldn’t use this in a rush.

Verdict: I like thing enough to finish it up, but I probably won’t repurchase. I love the color and I think it’s great for the cheeks, but it’s still too fussy and time consuming for me. I know it doesn’t look like much in the pictures, but it doesn’t look as washed out in real life. Ultimately, I can get a great looking, long-lasting blush in powder form that I can apply in 5 seconds. If you are more fair-skinned and have lighter lips, this might actually work better for you, as it probably won’t take as long to build up the color.

11 thoughts on “A beauty mini quickie: Benefit Lollitint

  1. I have a few of these stain type products and it’s always a race against the clock blending this stuff in! I’m always worried I’ll be left with distinct dots of products on my cheeks. I do prefer these for the cheeks than the lips.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Stila face of the day and review of the Convertible Color in Peony. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

