A beauty mini quickie/comparison review: Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment vs. Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment

IMG_9639

I was pretty excited to see the Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment in my little bag of skincare samples from Sephora because I’ve been wanting to try it since last year when I got its counterpart, the Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment. These masks are both pretty expensive at $79 a pop for 1.2 oz. I ended up getting the little 0.5 oz of the Youthmud for $19 so I could see if I was really going to like it. Unfortunately, the Supermud doesn’t come in the 0.5 oz size, but after reading about both on Sephora’s website I thought it might be more suited to my needs. But since I couldn’t get my hands on the smaller size I kind just put it on the back burner. Then the beauty gods answered my prayers and I happened to get this as part of my skincare bag. I decided to share a little about both since it hasn’t been that long since my experience with the Youthmud.

The Supermud mask is formulated to “target, prevent, and heal problem skin”. The main reason I wanted to try it out is because it’s supposed to help reduce breakouts and blackheads. The Youthmud is supposed to leave your skin more “glowing”, as well giving “tighter skin texture and pores”. The mask is a green/grey thin paste that has that clay mask type of smell. I remember the Youthmud being a more grainy and thicker, I actually used an old foundation brush to apply it as it helped to spread it more easily. The Supermud was fine to apply with my fingers. The main difference I noticed is that there is no “tingling” (or stinging) effect with the Supermud. For me, it wasn’t that bad and it didn’t stop me from finishing up the Youthmud mask, but beware if you have sensitive skin. I left both on for about 15 minutes, as it dries your skin will start to feel tight and it’s hard to move your mouth (I had to tell my husband to stop making me laugh). They both rinse easily with water, but with the Youthmud I did spend some time rubbing the mask onto my skin after adding water to exfoliate.

IMG_9643

Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment Sample

In terms of results, I’d say both products do what they say. The Supermud did shrink my pores and reduce my blackheads (it doesn’t completely remove them FYI). The Youthmud did the same, but it also did brighten my face. It really made my skin radiant. Unfortunately, it didn’t stay like that forever, a few hours later the effect had died down.

IMG_9642

I couldn’t resist snapping a pic! I was actually trying to smile, but the mask wouldn’t let me!

I would recommend the Youthmud for a special event where you want your skin to look amazing, or if you have dry or dull skin. I’d stick to the Supermud if you’re really just looking for oil control, reducing breakouts and pores, and if you have sensitive skin.

Verdict: Still on the fence on these two. They are so pricey, and I actually may have an alternative that’s much cheaper. I just need to check if mine is still okay to use since I’ve had it for quite awhile, but I’m going to share within the next two weeks! Sorry, I know that’s annoying of me, but I want to actually use it again since it’s been so long since the last time before recommending it (or not, who knows maybe I’ll hate it this next go-around?).

5 thoughts on “A beauty mini quickie/comparison review: Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment vs. Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment

  1. I can’t wait to see what your cheaper face mask is. I do like the Youthmud but it is so expensive and for temporary results as you have said. I like the Body Shop Seaweed Iconic Clay Mask for a cheaper alternative. It does a pretty good job.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Skin S.O.S. with Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

