e.l.f. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder Review

IMG_0121

I’ve been thinking about trying a setting powder specifically for my under eye area for a couple of years now, but never made the plunge. I’ve considered the Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder and the Ben Nye Banana Powder, but the Ben Nye isn’t readily available and since I was leaning more towards trying that I just never did. I’m a much harder sell if I can’t just pick it up in store. So when I was browsing the makeup aisles at Target, I stumbled upon the e.l.f. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder. I didn’t even know e.l.f. had a product like this and figured why not? I actually really like the blushes from their Studio line (specifically this one), and at $3 I didn’t have too much to lose.

IMG_0125

The product comes in a small pot with a sifter cover so you don’t spill the powder everywhere. It also comes with a teeny tiny brush for application. I threw this to the side, despite the under eye being a relatively small area on my face, the brush was just no. The powder is pretty finely milled and peachy toned. I tried to blend it more softly in the top swatch and it caught on to the fine hairs on my inner arm, those aren’t huge chunks of powder in the picture. Underneath that is the powder fully blended. In swatching, my heart fell a little because there are small specks of glitter in the powder. In testing the product, I used both the Real Techniques Contour Brush and the Bobbi Brown Sheer Powder Brush to apply it. I prefer the Bobbi Brown because it lays down less product. I found that too much made my under eye area look a little too dry and emphasized the fine lines I have near my inner corners. I tapped a bit of the powder into the cover, then swirled and tapped the brush before patting under my eyes.

IMG_0186

There was a (very) slight brightening effect, but it’s nothing better than what I’d typically use as an under eye setting powder. I didn’t notice any visible glitter in daylight, but in the evening in artificial light when I would turn my head in the mirror I could see the glitter from a distance. A big no for me.

IMG_0188

This setting powder was just okay, it didn’t wow me in any way. I’ll probably use it up just because and conserve my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Incandescent Light. Also, I just hate glitter anywhere except the occasional eye shadow. I’d skip this and buy another Studio blush instead.

6 thoughts on “e.l.f. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder Review

  1. This was on my list to try after I finish my Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder (which DOES also have shimmer but NOT glitter, but very minute amount and it doesn’t bother me) but your review, coupled with a few others I’ve seen online, has discouraged me from trying this. I’m thinking of trying the Nars Light Reflecting Loose Setting Powder for setting under eye next.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been using this NARS powder – both the loose & the pressed versions, actually – and love them for setting everything, including under the eyes. I have oily skin everywhere, not just on my t-zone, and they both work spectacularly. The loose powder I use to set my makeup at home, the pressed powder I take in my bag for blotting because it doesn’t cake up through the day & is completely invisible. The great thing is, I don’t have to blot at all for several hours. Another plus is that they’ll both last me a very long time as I don’t have to use much to achieve the finish I want. I’m not a big NARS fan, to say the least, but these powders are amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow it sounds amazing! I’ve been using the Hourglass Ambient Powder in Diffused Light lately, but I’ll check out the Nars when I run out!

        Like

Leave a Reply

