Taking ripped jeans from day to night.

IMG_0131

I’m a lover of distressed denim and when the whole black ripped knee jeans trend started to dominate my Instagram feed I was all for it. I checked the usual stores I would think would carry them (H&M, Forever 21, Zara) and surprisingly couldn’t find any that met my specifications (at least not at the time). I went to my Nordstrom app and found a pair from Topshop, the Moto ‘Leigh’ Ripped Skinny Jeans. They also come in short, which I always appreciate. They are also a high rise, which I also like because they are much more forgiving post-baby (read as ‘muffin-top’ control). The website recommends sizing up, which I agree with as European sizing is always smaller than ours. And I have to say, these jeans are probably the most comfortable I’ve ever worn! They are super soft and light weight with stretch, it’s practically like wearing leggings! And the knee holes fall in just the right spot, which is another reason I appreciate that these come in a short length. IMG_0132 The ‘Leigh’ is also super versatile. I can wear them with my slide-on sneakers for running errands with the baby, chunky heeled booties for a lunch date with the girls, or dress them up for dinner and drinks for the evening. That’s what I love about distressed denim, they don’t have to be just uber-casual, adding a leather jacket and some heels make them appropriate for a night out too. Just changing your accessories can make the biggest difference in an outfit, I can wear this flannel and ripped jeans from morning to night instead of having to change every piece completely. Which is nice because between getting Ava fed and bathed before our sitter comes leaves little time to get ready, and I can spend more time touching up makeup, taking it from day to night as well.

And I had to share this picture from last night.

IMG_1008 I didn’t celebrate Chinese New Year until I started dating my husband. He was actually surprised that my family didn’t celebrate, but I don’t know any Filipinos who do. I have to say, I wish we had cause it’s a good time. Hope everyone had as much fun as we did!

7 thoughts on “Taking ripped jeans from day to night.

Leave a Reply

