Simple Cleansing Micellar Water Review

IMG_0343

Ever since I heard about Bioderma from the European beauty bloggers on YouTube, I’ve wanted to try it. It’s not readily available in the US so I still have yet to try it (although I did hear that you can purchase it online at Beautylish). When Sephora started carrying Koh Gen Do, I tried the Cleansing Spa Water (which is awesome in case you were wondering) in the smaller travel size, but I didn’t want to pay $40 for the larger bottle.
I was fine using my much cheaper Neutrogena makeup remover wipes (this is before I started using cleansing oil). When I heard about the Simple Cleansing Micellar Water, I went to Target to pick it up. At $6.99, it’s much more affordable. I’m still loyal to my double cleansing routine, but it’s always good to have a back up or for times I want to quickly remove my makeup in the afternoon.

IMG_0344

It is packaged in a bottle with a snap top lid with hole to dispense the product. It really is just like water in consistency and feel, there is no scent or greasy residue left on my face after application. I used cotton pads to remove my makeup with this product, more specifically FOUR well-soaked cotton pads on a day I used liquid foundation. Even if I was using just power foundation and concealer, I’d probably still use at least three. On the fourth cotton pad I was still picking up makeup residue, but at that point I felt like my Ole Henriksen Aloe Vera Cleanser would take care of the rest. With the Koh Gen Do I was good after two. The other issue I had is that it doesn’t remove waterproof mascara, which the KGD did. I wear waterproof mascara all the time as of late, so I had to go in with my Neutrogena Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover. With my Garnier Cleansing Oil, I can get my waterproof makeup off as long as I take the time to really work it into my lashes.

The Simple Cleansing Micellar Water is good for lighter makeup days & for the rare occasion I might not be using waterproof mascara. I actually think it does come in handy for correcting any liquid liner mishaps and for removing any makeup that might be left close to my hairline where I don’t want to get too close with my cleansing oil. I won’t be using it for days I’m using liquid foundation or waterproof makeup, but I do think it’s handy and I’ll definitely use it up. I probably won’t repurchase, but if it did the job removing waterproof mascara then I’d be way more into it.

Please share your thoughts if you’ve tried this too!

13 thoughts on “Simple Cleansing Micellar Water Review

  1. I’ve just introduced micellar water into my routine and I have to say I’m very happy with it. I’m using the Garnier one which I’ve heard is a dupe for the Bioderma one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a micellar water junkie and I agree, it’s not good for removing full face makeup – I use micellar water as my 2nd step cleansing. I remove the majority of my makeup with cleansing oil and eye makeup remover first, and then I go in with the micellar water to remove residue. I wouldn’t bother chasing down the Bioderma – I’ve tried it and it’s not all that it’s cracked up to be, in my opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was always wondering if the micellar water can remove makeup completely (because I’ve never see it in my country before..!) , now I see how to use it! Thank you for useful post as usual 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Drugstore skincare loves, likes, & losers. | Always, Bree

  5. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2016 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

