The NEW Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Review

IMG_0337

I have been a loyal devotee to liquid liner for 2 years now, but sometimes I still get that itch to use gel liner. When I went through my makeup and threw out all the old, my MAC Blacktrack Fluidline was among them. I was never that happy with it anyway because it wasn’t that deep, dark black that I was hoping it would be. I’d actually had the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner before, apparently this is it’s newest reincarnation. I’m guessing it’s the 24 hour wear claim that’s new? I’m not quite sure, but I do remember liking it so I grabbed it again in Blackest Black.

Per the Maybelline website:

• Oil-free formula holds highly concentrated pigments in a clear gel base
• Smudge-proof and waterproof for 24 hours
• Most intense line for lasting drama
• Safe for sensitive eyes and ophthalmologist-tested
• Contact lens safe

IMG_0342

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black

It comes in the typical gel pot and includes a brush, which I felt wasn’t thin enough in profile for a cat eye. Maybe just to line along the lashes without the flick, but this was another brush that went to the wayside. The formula is super dark, what I was expecting from Blacktrack. I found that it applied well with a liner brush and I didn’t have to go over my work a million times to get it that dark. I also used this for tightlining and unfortunately this was where its performance fell. It smudged under my eye both at the inner and outer corners of my eyes. I had no issues with transfer into my crease. Once it set on my lid it didn’t move when I rubbed my finger over it. It wears well for almost 10 hours (the amount of time I usually have makeup on my face) with minimal fading. I found that using an eye shadow primer did help to extend the wear.

IMG_0336

A cat eye with the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black.

Overall, this product was an 50/50 for me. It was perfect for lining at the lash line, but not so great for tight lining, which was the main reason I picked it up. I won’t repurchase because I want something that will work for both purposes. Also, if you like a sharper cat eye or if you’re looking for it to look perfect throughout the day or for a night out, I’d still stick to liquid liner.

I feel like I’ve taken a long vacation from my usual cat eye and I’m happy to have it back (if even just once in a while). I remember I started doing a cat eye with gel liner and it did take me awhile to get the hang of it, so this was a bit nostalgic for me. Luckily, it’s kind of like riding a bike and I had a much easier time this go around.

Have you tried the newest Maybelline gel liner yet?

 

9 thoughts on “The NEW Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Review

  1. Who wears liner for 24 hrs? These claims are getting ridiculous! I tried the old version of the Maybelline gel liner (in purple) and it was a bit dry, but that could have been the formula of that colour. I’m with you, I am a liquid liner devotee – they are just so much easier and lasts really well on my eyes.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hahaha I know!!! I guess there are people who work crazy shifts like that, but if I was one of them I think my liner lasting for 24 hours would be the least of my worries!

      Like

  2. I have a question- Do you have partial monolids/demi lids? I just noticed it from the picture 🙂
    I’ve been looking around the web for partial monolid makeup forever!! SO glad to have found you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

