My ‘top drawer’ makeup.

IMG_0465

I try to keep my most reached for makeup in the top drawer (actually it’s the only drawer) of my vanity and the other day I realized it was getting a little crazy in there. Like I could barely get it closed crazy. So I buckled down for a major clean out and I wanted to share the items that made the cut.

IMG_0468

Of course the first item I’m going to mention is the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer and I don’t actually keep it in the drawer, it’s on top of my vanity (whatever, close enough). It’s the best primer I’ve ever used, if you want to read my review you can find it here. I’m not attached to any specific liquid foundation/tinted moisturizer/etc at the moment, probably because I’ve been keeping it lighter lately, but if I’m in the mood I’ll use the Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer (also reviewed here). My skin has been behaving well lately, so I’ve been going more of the concealer + powder route. I have three that have been on rotation, the Nars Creamy Concealer (so good I have it in two shades, Ginger and Custard), Cle de Peau (review here), and the Maybelline Master Conceal (review here). The powder foundation I’ve fallen back in love with is the MAC Mineralized Skinfinish Natural in Medium Plus, this winter has really sucked the moisture out of my skin and I’ve been applying this lightly with a fluffy powder brush to give my skin a little bit of glow.

IMG_0467

I use the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette daily to set my under eye area (incandescent light) and the rest of my face (dim light) when I’m using liquid foundation, sometimes I use it over powder foundation as well. It brightens up my undereye area and dim light is seriously like a magic eraser for your imperfections. It blurs any acne scarring or discoloration on your skin, I see an immediate difference on application. If I want to warm up my skin a little then I use radiant light. The Charlotte Tilbury Bronze and Glow (review) is just the perfect everyday bronzer and highlight and because they’re in the same palette it’s just easy. I pop on the bronzer then move straight to the highlight and I’m good. The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette (review here) is just as amazing as it’s counterpart, all the blushes are beautiful and add a little glow to your face as well. And the Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Exposed is my go-to, no brainer blush during the fall/winter and it lasts well throughout the day.

IMG_0466

I won’t say more about the Stila Nouveau Natural Palette (review here) since it’s been featured heavily in my recent posts. The five MAC eyeshadows I have are Soft Brown, Wedge, Handwritten, Woodwinked, Twinks, Brule, and Rice Paper. Actually, the only reason I started buying MAC eye shadows is because my girlfriend gave me this 15 pan palette she didn’t want anymore and of course, I said, “Sure, why not?”, despite not having one MAC shadow. I’m so glad she did because Soft Brown is my most favorite transition color. It’s still my mission to fill up this palette, if you have any recommendations for me please share!

IMG_0469

In the brow realm, I’ve had the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Ebony forever (I think they’ve actually repackaged it), and now that I use the Brow Wiz in Soft Brown I feel like it will last til eternity. I reach for it when I just want to fill my brows in quickly. I use the ABH Brow Gel in Brunette to balance out the darkness of my brows since dying my hair. And the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper (review here) comes to the rescue when I just want to get out the door or am just feeling lazy.

IMG_0471

No surprise that my most reached for lipsticks are all nudes, MAC Velvet Teddy, Nars Audacious in Anita and Barbara (reviews here & here), and Maybelline Color Sensational in Warm Me Up. If I just want a gloss, I love the NYX Butter Gloss in Tiramisu. And I always start my makeup routine with the Tony Moly Bbo Bbo Lip Balm (review here).

IMG_0470

More eye stuff here, all of which I have blogged about (click on each if you want to more info): my Shiseido eyelash curler, Nars Pro-Prime, Wet n Wild single shadow in Brule, Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Liner in Blackest Black, & L’Oreal Liquid Liner Pencil in Brown.

IMG_0473

Lastly, I have the Boscia Clear Complexion Blotting Linens which I use when I’m touching up if I’m going out for the night. It doesn’t happen a ton lately these days, but I like to have them on hand just in case.

IMG_0464

Today’s makeup was all from the top drawer, except for one product that I’m in the process of testing. It went so much faster since I didn’t have to sift through an overflowing drawer of makeup.

What are your ‘top drawer’ faves?

12 thoughts on “My ‘top drawer’ makeup.

  1. Pingback: My ‘natural’ eyebrow routine. | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

