Another day to night outfit & my take on the ‘hair tuck’ trend.

IMG_0740

I thought I’d do another ‘day to night’ outfit because it’s pretty much what I always do if I know I’m going out later that night, unless I’m wearing sweats all day or I’m going somewhere that requires something a little fancier. It’s always nice to have ideas to change up an outfit so you don’t actually have to change. I brought Ava to storytime at the library today and threw on some distressed jeans, a black V-neck, and my grey Ugg boots. This was the first time I broke out the Uggs this season, I’ve worn Uggs since college, but lately I’m just not that into them. But, I do have to say they are comfy & warm. I wore my chucks the other day and I swear I think my feet almost froze walking from the car into the store. Plus, I got these recently after returning the same pair that ripped down the back seam (Nordstrom has the best customer service & return policies) so I figured I might as well wear them before winter is over. I added a light grey scarf to warm up the deep V of the sweater and I was done.

IMG_0737

Banana Republic black boyfriend fit V-neck, Mossimo for Target distressed jeans. On left, grey short Ugg boots & Forever 21 grey scarf. On right, patent black CL 85mm Pigalle pumps.

To make the outfit more ‘night’, I switched out the boots for some classic black patent heels and added a pair of more dramatic earrings. I made the V-neck a little more off the shoulder and switched out my lighter fringed scarf for a knitted grey infinity one. I just like the softness of the scarf for this night out look. I skipped any other jewelry (other than my wedding band), I thought the earrings on their own were enough.

IMG_0739

Forever 21 gold drop earrings (old)

The ‘hair tuck’ trend is big right now, where you keep your hair tucked into your sweater after putting it on. I like the easy, carefree look it gives, but I feel weird keeping my hair tucked into my sweaters. Mainly because the sensation of my hair on my back is bothersome. And it works better with a turtleneck or a higher neckline. Alternatively, I like to get the look by keeping my hair tucked into my scarf, and to me it just feels like a more natural thing to do. It’s so automatic to immediately pull my hair out from my sweater when I get dressed, but when I wrap a scarf I usually just let my hair stay tucked in anyway.

IMG_0738

What’s your take on the ‘hair tuck’? Is it a do or a don’t?

15 thoughts on “Another day to night outfit & my take on the ‘hair tuck’ trend.

  1. I really enjoy when you do day to nighttime posts. They are very helpful! Just switching out pieces here and there. I feel like the tuck was made famous by Olivia Palermo. I have super long hair. I don’t think it’s nice with my length. Trust me. I’ve tried. It gets all static-y.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you I want them to be easy & with items I think everyone has some variation of in their closets! I didn’t know Olivia Palermo started it, she has great style. And that makes sense, it would be harder to do with really long hair, mine is long but I have shorter layers in the front so I think that helps.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

