What I keep on my vanity.

IMG_1023

I’d been seeing a few posts of people sharing their vanity & makeup organization lately, and since I already shared my ‘top drawer’ I figured I should show you what’s on mine. I remember a beauty YouTuber, I think it was Ingrid Nilsen, was sharing her mirrored jewelry armoire and the minute I saw it I knew I wanted it. It’s just beautiful. When I was at the store checking it out I saw the matching vanity, which of course is also just as pretty, but I knew I’d have to wait on it. At the time I was using a table we’d picked up at Walmart (I actually think it was meant to be a console table) because when we were living in our apartment, M (my husband, then fiancΓ©) was sick of watching me drag all my makeup to our dining room and having to prop a mirror on a couple of boxes to do my makeup. Towards the last year in our apartment we ended up getting this vanity because I knew I wanted to start getting more furniture pieces that would last and that we could eventually bring to our new home. I don’t have a great organization system going, but here’s what I keep on top.

IMG_1019

On the right I have all my hair products (hairspray, dry shampoo, etc) and in a container I have my brush, teasing comb, hair ties, and some hair clips. Mixed in there are my makeup setting sprays and other face products. I don’t really mind that they’re mixed together because I can still find everything quite easily.

IMG_1022

Next to that is the mirror I’d prop on some books to get it to the right height to do my makeup. It still comes in handy and I use it everyday when I need a closer view of what I’m doing.

IMG_1020

My brushes are separated into two of cups with a black & white striped pattern I got when Missoni did a collaboration with Target. It’s should be face brushes in one and eyes in the other, but it never quite stays that ways. I keep my eye and lip pencils and tweezers in a silver cup that’s probably supposed to be for pens and pencils or for the bathroom. It does the job. I also have my beautyblender that I keep on it’s original container and my Ecotools bronzer brush that I use if I need to blend out my bronzer or blush.

IMG_1021

Lastly, I got this small mirrored tray at Urban Outfitters to keep my perfumes, but honestly I rarely wear fragrances. I have two, Chanel Chance for the spring/summer (also what I wore when I got married) and Chloe for the fall/winter. I usually only use them for special occasions. The other fragrance is a body spray from Victoria’s Secret that I stole from my sister. Since there’s space, I put my Hourglass Veil Primer on there as well, along with the travel sized Caudelie spray. I don’t use that much either and it didn’t do much for me, but I want to use it up. And there’s a sample hair oil on there just to remind me that I need to try it (obviously not working since it’s still not opened). I also keep a pack of baby wipes there for any on the spot makeup removal.

That’s about it! I keep the rest of my makeup in a plastic, 5-drawer compartment at the side of the vanity since there’s not much storage other than the drawer. I wish it were something nicer, but it works for what I need.

What do you keep on your vanity?

10 thoughts on “What I keep on my vanity.

  1. Oh I fantasize about having a vanity like yours! I literally keep my makeup in the closet in our spare bedroom! Here’s a picture: https://stashmatters.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/level-set-my-current-stash/
    I have a wall mirror to the side of the closet and I am standing up while I do my makeup…
    When I was single and living alone, I used to use the Ikea Jerker desk as my vanity – it was amazing to have everything laid out and visible. Now that desk is “command central” for the bf’s computer gaming stuff. The sacrifices we make…
    Your vanity looks like a great blend of form AND function! Thanks for sharing it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my!!! That is truly a makeup stash!! Haha my husband took my old ‘vanity’ and now uses in his spare bedroom for computer. You should definitely invest in a vanity, you obviously have a great love for makeup and you should have a place to sit comfortably while you put it on! I’m happy you enjoyed reading πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

