Blue streak.

So I was watching E! News the other day and saw some clips of Emma Stone at the Independent Spirit Awards and fell in love with her makeup (her dress was also incredible). I immediately went on Google for some close-ups of her look.

I don’t do color on my eyes often, but lining the lower lash line is a great way to do it for us color-phobes. That blue she used is just beautiful. And the next day I was trying to recreate the look.

I have ONE palette that actually has color in it, and that’s the Urban Decay 15th Anniversary Palette. Despite the lack of color in my eye shadow life, this was one I just had to have. The closest shade I have to Emma’s is evidence, a shimmery deep blue. I lined my lower lash line and the outer half of my upper lash line. I also used a little bit of Individual from the Stila Nouveau Natural Palette to blend out the edges of the liner to soften it up. I also took a mix of Flow and Chase as my lid color. There are no mattes in this palette so I went back to the Stila palette and used Wind on my brow bone, Individual in my crease, and Wit to define my outer corners a bit. It’s hard to tell what’s really going on with her lids, so I just kept it light. For my cheeks I used Final Cut from the Nars Virtual Domination Palette. I don’t have quite the same lip color she wore so layered the Rimmel by Kate lipstick in 12 over MAC Velvet Teddy. Then I topped it with a sample size I got of a peachy, shimmery gloss from Makeup Forever.

It was fun to play with a little color today, even in the slightest of ways. I really need to break out that UD palette more often.

What looks have you been loving this awards season?

9 thoughts on “Blue streak.

Leave a Reply

